“O”

Hi all

I wrote this poem was inspired by the girl who’s mother and sister were murdered a couple of weeks ago, whom I wrote about in the last update. I won’t state her name, but it begins with O, hence the name of this update.

“O”

You can’t change me,
I am what I am and I’m set in stone.
No one can dig me out because everyone has pushed me in,
And in the streets I roam.

My situation is “bastante fea”,
I’m fed up of feeling miserable like this,
All the time and every minute of everyday,
I’m waiting God to throw another fist.

You keep telling me that I’m strong,
Can’t you see that I’m crying?
Can’t you see what my life will come to?
Can’t you see I’m just about surviving?

You’re rich my friend, and don’t you forget it,
You’ll never understand my troubles,
Maras, death and people treating me badly,
While you sit in vain, growing your designer stubble.

I bet there’s no Villa Franca en Inglaterra,
And you’ve already told me people with no work get money,
While I fight for every single peso I can get,
And eating “churros” for dinner again ain’t funny.

I know that you care for me,
And I really appreciate that you do.
But please don’t give me advice on life, hombre,
Because in my eyes, you’ve never lived.

Good news is that this girl is now back in Casa Alianza and is, at this moment, safe.

About Nicholas Rogers

I am an English journalist/copywriter living in Tegucigalpa, Honduras, and I have been here since 2011. I originally came to work with Casa Alianza, which supports street kids and vulnerable youths. I then stayed on, after meeting Pamela Cruz Lozano, who calls me her adopted Catracho. I work freelance journalism and I have my own translation business. Why did I come here? For the challenge, to open my mind and get out of my comfort zone. I love literature and I've written a book with street kids. I write novels, short stories and poetry, all of which you will find on this blog, as well as a lot of information about Honduras. View all posts by Nicholas Rogers

Leave a Reply

