Pespire – Part Eight

Dear all

Wednesday 10th August 2011

Like I stated in the last post, we predicted a hard day’s work on the walls and we would be finished. And we were right. It didn’t go without spillage though. A couple of Guides accidentally knocked over their panes of paint out of tiredness and now the paving stones of Pespire remain stained forever. It wasn’t completely finished, but with good reason. There were tiny touch ups to do and a little bit of wall, but instead of opening a whole pane of paint for that, Moises said he would paint that once the extension work is done. Some of the Guides sang camp songs while we used the last specks of paint to finish off the walls. I tried to remember some from Scouts but I couldn’t, so I just came out with rhymes I remembered from a film with Steve Martin.

 
I climbed up a tree
And it tricked down my knee:
Diarrhea, Diarrhea
 
I climbed up the steeple
And I did it on the people:
Diarrhea, Diarrhea
 
When you’re fecally obsessed
And it splatters on your chest:
Diarrhea, Diarrhea.
 
When you don’t feel like a winner
and your butt blows out your dinner:
Diarrhea, Diarrhea.
 

Literally, there are millions of them. I have just looked a few up on the internet and been left in stitches. Thirty one years old, I’m on the other side of the world laughing about rhymes about diarrhea. Where did it all go wrong? Here is a blog dedicated to the diarrhea song: http://diarrheasong.blogspot.com/. I suppose it bodes well with some of the stomach problems that I’ve had here. It doesn’t help eating so much beans and banana crisps!

That evening, like stated in the last post, we went to the fair with our host families. I went with the Matamoros family, Kris, Catherine, Sarah and Shayla. Santos, father of the family, owns a van and takes the Pespirian children to school in it. We had a bit of a sing-song on the way and the sisters took the piss out of me, with me giving as good as I got. When we got there, a parade was passing through town and a few fireworks were being fired very close to where we were parked. They sounded too much like gunshots for everyone’s liking, so we got back in the van and drove somewhere safer. The fairground itself was fine. There were many rides that I remember seeing with my family on Guy Fawkes Night at Small Heath Park in Birmingham when I was small. They were quite precarious then. At least back in England people waited until the rides stopped before they tried to get on. Here it was just a free-for-all. The rides swung you upside down and round and round and the rest of it, but here the people stood waiting and watching literally centimeters away from death and they held calm, cool expressions. In England, health and safety comes into play. Catherine’s face was a heart attack. Catherine, the leader, found Honduras quite a cultural shock and I felt for her at times. Because the Matamoros family consisted of about nine people and it would cost a lot for them all to go on rides, we just went on the dodgems (which Kris kindly treated us) and watched the fireworks.

We were all a bit tired. The next day we knew would be busy, as well as our last, so we went home early.

I am going to finish this song, not with another diarrhea rhyme, but with Helter Skelter by the Beatles, which bodes well with fairgrounds, and the fact that the Matamoros sisters kept reminding that I was a crap dancer. If you don’t know the lyrics, then listen to the song and you’ll realise why it bodes well!

 

 
About Nicholas Rogers

I am an English journalist/copywriter living in Tegucigalpa, Honduras, and I have been here since 2011. I originally came to work with Casa Alianza, which supports street kids and vulnerable youths. I then stayed on, after meeting Pamela Cruz Lozano, who calls me her adopted Catracho. I work freelance journalism and I have my own translation business. Why did I come here? For the challenge, to open my mind and get out of my comfort zone. I love literature and I've written a book with street kids. I write novels, short stories and poetry, all of which you will find on this blog, as well as a lot of information about Honduras. View all posts by Nicholas Rogers

One response to “Pespire – Part Eight

Leave a Reply

