Moon River & September 11th 2001

Hi all

After finishing the last update about my time in Lago Yahoa, I looked at the clock and saw the date: 11th September 2011. Ten years have passed since that infamous, horrendous day, which plunged the world into a sense of fear and paranoia and anxiety.

I was in Solihull. If people don’t know where that is, it is big town attached to Birmingham, UK. It was a warm, but slightly overcast day I think. I was starting back at college and looking forward to the year ahead, after quitting a job in a home for people with learning difficulties. I hated the job. I was in HMV buying a Frank Sinatra cd, which had New York, New York on it. The second track. It was a “best of . . . . ” compilation. I was actually buying it for the song “Moon River” which I adored and still adore. Just a bit of a freaky coincidence, but it’s something I will never, ever forget. If I remember right, it happened about 4pm GMT. When I got home, my mum came to the door and asked anxiously if I’d heard the news.

“What news?”

“A plane has crashed into the World Trade Centre in New York.”

I stupidly asked, “Did anyone die?”

“What do you think?!”

I immediately thought it was an accident. I got into the living room and the second plane hit the tower, and that reports were coming in that Al Qaeda were behind the attacks. I couldn’t believe that these people could do this, turning an aeroplane full of innocent people into a deadly missile. The fanatical mentally to do this. I was ignorant to it, and in a way, I still am. I don’t understand them, how the people can believe that their going to Heaven, and how the people higher up the hierarchy in the terrorist groups chose the people, without picking themselves. A mix of cowardice and madness. The situation is still confusing. I can’t imagine how confusing it is to the families of the victims. I remember my sister’s ex-boyfriend, Matt Mountford, who was in the living room watching the pictures of the buildings falling, and he was repeating, “This means war.” Gosh, and that war is still continuing. I didn’t like the idea of fighting fire with fire but they did it anyway and more people are being killed out in Afghanistan and many people will do. But it doesn’t make what happened right. If there is a Heaven, the suicide bombers definitely aren’t there. I only hope the victims are.

I suppose this is a tribute to the people who died and their families who suffered the loss, especially the firemen. 10 year anniversary. I’m not going to play New York, New York because it’s not appropriate for such an event. I’ll play Moon River instead. It’s a sweeter song to remember that day. It is a strange song to attach to such a sad day. But again, if there is a Heaven, hopefully the victims and their families will be reunited up there some day. I suppose some of the words Moon River do bode well with September 11 after all.

That’s my memory of September 11 2001.

About Nicholas Rogers

I am an English journalist/copywriter living in Tegucigalpa, Honduras, and I have been here since 2011. I originally came to work with Casa Alianza, which supports street kids and vulnerable youths. I then stayed on, after meeting Pamela Cruz Lozano, who calls me her adopted Catracho. I work freelance journalism and I have my own translation business. Why did I come here? For the challenge, to open my mind and get out of my comfort zone. I love literature and I've written a book with street kids. I write novels, short stories and poetry, all of which you will find on this blog, as well as a lot of information about Honduras. View all posts by Nicholas Rogers

Leave a Reply

