The Wanderer – a tribute to Johnny

Dear all

Freaky things happen every now and again. Last night, as I went to sleep, I was listening to one of my favourite songs by U2 and Johnny Cash, called The Wanderer. I was listening to it more so because I love some of the lyrics and I relate to some of them here in Honduras, regarding religion (he’s quite critical about it) and “the search for experience”.

I woke up today to hear it was eight years since Johnny Cash passed away. I absolutely loved his music. He was a brilliant lyricist with balls, something of a traumatic soul, that brought him many fans. He wrote songs and didn’t waste a lyric on anything that wasn’t worth mentioning. Like yesterday regarding September 11, I would like to pay my respects to a genius. One of the best American song writers ever, Johnny Cash.

 

I am now going to include a video of The Wanderer. I remember when it came out. It was the last track on the U2 Zooropa album and it was the day I fell in love with Johnny Cash. I was only 13 at the time and classmates were listening to stuff like Vanilla Ice, Kris Kross and East 17. Funnily enough, those artists have become something of a cult themselves. I stood out like a sore thumb, liking dark talents like Johnny Cash. None of the other kids understood it. They probably still don’t. Today I still love the song. It’s been one of my favourites for many years. My Uncle and Aunty bought me a limited edition set of all his new, old and rare songs one Christmas and I keep it treasured. It has The Wanderer on it too. I am going to include a version of the song, sang at a Johnny Cash tribute concert by Bono.

About Nicholas Rogers

I am an English journalist/copywriter living in Tegucigalpa, Honduras, and I have been here since 2011. I originally came to work with Casa Alianza, which supports street kids and vulnerable youths. I then stayed on, after meeting Pamela Cruz Lozano, who calls me her adopted Catracho. I work freelance journalism and I have my own translation business. Why did I come here? For the challenge, to open my mind and get out of my comfort zone. I love literature and I've written a book with street kids. I write novels, short stories and poetry, all of which you will find on this blog, as well as a lot of information about Honduras. View all posts by Nicholas Rogers

3 responses to “The Wanderer – a tribute to Johnny

Leave a Reply

