Futbol en Barrio Chile y “skinning a rabbit”

Hola todo

I thought I would do an update on the Casa Alianza football team. They have been playing in a Saturday league team and, as far as I know, they have been steam-rolling through the games like Man Utd have been doing in the Premiership this season. I have seen them play before and they have fantastic squad, playing in a similar way to Spain and Barcelona: total possesion. They play with each other every day in Casa Alianza and know each others game back to front. I’ve said it before, many of these kids could break into professional teams. They’re so cunning and very technically gifted. Scouts from Olimpia and Motagua, the two clubs of Tegus, have been to look at them, but because the kids don’t have the enough resources or capital to support themselves, they can’t take them on, because the clubs can’t, or won’t, pay for it either.

I have been with them twice to where they place in Barrio Chile, which sits just on the other side of the Rio Choluteca from the city centre area. I pass it every day to and from work, and it’s sat just at the bottom of Cerro Grande where I live. It’s quite a dangerous neighbourhood and not a place for me to go wandering around with my camera alone. I hear Mara 18 are the ruling gang there and there are often grizzily stories of people being chopped up and put in the river there. What’s great is the huge cliff face just behind one of the goals. It’s very photogenic and the pictures could be put in some footy art books or something. Sometimes cows stroll on to the pitch, and the gangs look on, not to rob or kill, but because they are generally thrilled to watch the kids play. Normally I can’t take pictures of the kids and put them on my blog because of security reasons. I can, however, if the kids faces are unrecognisable, so, here you go.

The last time I went, there just so happened to be a gang there skinning a rabbit. It’s certainly an alternative ending to Watership Down, but for me it was certainly educational, especially if I find myself stranded in the woods one day, I’ll know exactly what to do (although I’ll have to catch the little f–ker of a rabbit first). I did get twenty minutes of video footage, but WordPress is being shite and asking me to download a programme for $60 or so to do it (which I refuse to, sorry WordPress and animal haters), and it’s taking up to five hours to download it onto You Tube. I took a couple of pictures, which aren’t as grotesque as the video, but if you’re an animal lover or skirmish, don’t scroll down!

About Nicholas Rogers

I am an English journalist/copywriter living in Tegucigalpa, Honduras, and I have been here since 2011. I originally came to work with Casa Alianza, which supports street kids and vulnerable youths. I then stayed on, after meeting Pamela Cruz Lozano, who calls me her adopted Catracho. I work freelance journalism and I have my own translation business. Why did I come here? For the challenge, to open my mind and get out of my comfort zone. I love literature and I've written a book with street kids. I write novels, short stories and poetry, all of which you will find on this blog, as well as a lot of information about Honduras. View all posts by Nicholas Rogers

Leave a Reply

