Pura Vida mañana, Mum’s birthday & amazing views of Santa Lucía

Hi all

Tomorrow I go to Costa Rica at long last. I have been very stressed trying to get the book written. Written so much but loads to do still. Finally Casa Alianza are asking to read some of it. I need a break from the place. The kids have been driving me a bit crazy recently. I brought in lots of wool for them to do bracelets today and a lot of them started complaining that I didn’t have a certain colour or for whatever reason, also asking if I could get them bottles of pop. I understand they’ve had some tough times, but taking the piss is a bit out-of-order. A week away in the “Pura Vida” will give me fresh sails I think. Which makes me think – I’ve got to pack my bags!!

Anyway, I won’t be online for a week or so. I hope to come back with many pictures. I will be going to a volcano, Torteguero and Puerto Viejo, I think. That’s the plan anyway!  I want to see turtles, crocs and monkeys and smoke weed! I heard Puerto Viejo is for that. F–k it, I’ve been working hard – I deserve it!

It was my mum’s 63rd birthday over the weekend. I must admit, speaking to the family on SKYPE made me a little homesick. I also heard that it has been 28c back home in October, and then you’re expecting snow at the end of the month. Fun times in the UK. Swapping bathing thongs for skis. It’s been pissing down here. We’re entering hurricane season and I feel soggy the whole time. At the weekend I went to Santa Lucia (again!!) but we went to a cafe which have fantastic views of cloud forests. See for yourself below!

I wanted to touch the view, properly eat it up and take pictures of it forever. There’s a nice balcony to the cafe we went to. It only fits six people. The balcony that is, not the cafe. The cafe we went to served lovely aromatic teas and the best carrot cake I have possibly ever tasted. To those in Honduras who want to try it, the cafe sits right near the cathedral. I can’t remember the name of it but I thoroughly recommend it! It was nice to getaway from the front of the computer screen anyway.

Last year for my mum’s birthday, I bought her a limited edition collection of Simon & Garfunkel songs. This year, I bought her something delicate and I’m afraid it would break if I put it in the post (as opposed to baggage handlers lugging it around in the airports), so it will have to wait. For now, I am including five songs which I hope my mum likes. Dedicated to Mum! Happy birthday! The first one is kind of Latin American. In fact it’s very Latin American Not quite Honduran but I know she likes it. I also like the pipes.

“Condor Pasa”

“Only Living Boy in New York”

“The Boxer”

“Cecilia”

“I am a Rock”

About Nicholas Rogers

I am an English journalist/copywriter living in Tegucigalpa, Honduras, and I have been here since 2011. I originally came to work with Casa Alianza, which supports street kids and vulnerable youths. I then stayed on, after meeting Pamela Cruz Lozano, who calls me her adopted Catracho. I work freelance journalism and I have my own translation business. Why did I come here? For the challenge, to open my mind and get out of my comfort zone. I love literature and I've written a book with street kids. I write novels, short stories and poetry, all of which you will find on this blog, as well as a lot of information about Honduras. View all posts by Nicholas Rogers

Leave a Reply

