Which Way Home

Hi all

A very, very quick update. This is the documentary I recommended in the last update, Which Way Home, about unaccompanied minors travelling from Central America to USA by train. I have found the full documentary on Youtube and I have posted it below. It has been on Channel 4 back home and it was made byRebecca Cammisa, who has turned out to be one of my heroes overnight. Very, very moving. Please watch it if you get the time. It’s a real eye-opener.

It has affected me personally. I have been talking a lot with a kid at Casa Alianza recently who is about 17 years old. I’ll call him B. He has tried to go to the US twice before. He has no parents. His brother is in Virgina. He wants to go again. He’s going with a boy who was in Casa Alianza in January. I have tried to make him think twice, but he is adamant that he is going. That’s that. But when you have nothing, just one member of your family living thousands of miles away, what would you do? Even if it meant losing your own life. Bravery is an understatement.

It reminds of the unaccompanied minors at the Refugee Council, who travelled from Afghanistan or Iraq or Africa alone. Then you think of all the kids who don’t make it, and it really hits home the problems there are in the world, what really is important life. Wayne Rooney missing three matches in the Euros for kicking someone? Fuck off. That’s not a problem. That’s a fair punishment for stupidity. Poverty, war, violations of human rights. And then you have dictators killing, soldiers raping, politicians robbing, gangs murdering, and peoples¬†consciences go out the window, whether it’s Pepe Lobo or Robert Mugabe or David Cameron getting chummy with the banks.

These experiences really make you realise how lucky you are, but so frustrated at the same time.

About Nicholas Rogers

I am an English journalist/copywriter living in Tegucigalpa, Honduras, and I have been here since 2011. I originally came to work with Casa Alianza, which supports street kids and vulnerable youths. I then stayed on, after meeting Pamela Cruz Lozano, who calls me her adopted Catracho. I work freelance journalism and I have my own translation business. Why did I come here? For the challenge, to open my mind and get out of my comfort zone. I love literature and I've written a book with street kids. I write novels, short stories and poetry, all of which you will find on this blog, as well as a lot of information about Honduras. View all posts by Nicholas Rogers

2 responses to “Which Way Home

  • Connie Snow

    Thanks Nick I have really been enjoying your posts from what feels like ‘the center of it all’. My heart goes out to the youngsters you work with. Really puts in perspective the plight of our young people here.
    Keep up the great work, you ‘are lucky to have them’. Having our eyes opened is always a blessing whether it seems so or not.

    A new friend
    Connie ( Tashina’s mom)

    • Nicholas Rogers

      Thanks Connie. It has been a real eye-opener for me too. Speaking with the kids has been amazing. Getting to know their thoughts and opinions on life, and their situation in life, is educational beyond belief, but also inspiring. If you ever get the chance to come here, do so. Or if you can help unaccompanied minors in Canada, try to help. The world, unfortunately, is full of them. It’s just about finding the time to do it!
      I hope Tashina’s well.

      Love

      Nick

Leave a Reply

