Ricky Martin

Dear all

In the last couple of weeks or so, there has been a lot of controversy about the Latin American pop star Ricky Martin coming to Honduras. There were lots of reports coming out that Ricky Martin was banned from entering the country to perform a concert because he was openly gay. Originally he was, but it seems to have been overturned after Pepe Lobo went to the States and probably got a bollocking (a risky figure of speech) from Obama and LGBT (Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and transsexual) groups. There seems to be some confusion, as I have read reports that he is not actually banned (though Pepe Lobo’s cronies and Catholic right-wingers in Government seemed to want to ), but children under 15 or 16 are banned from going to the concert because they are apparently a bit risqué. I personally don’t know. I think his music is a bit shite anyway. I don’t know how his concerts compare to those before he came out the closet. Either way, the Honduran government, religious or not, should really think about the message they’re sending to the rest of the world, especially if the country wants to develop and modernise itself. A senior interior ministry official, Alberto Espinal, has said the special restriction on the Martin concert is “to protect the mental health  of Honduran youth,” even in a country where there are regular performances from regaton groups that promote sex and violence and glorify drug kingpins without any restrictions imposed on them by the authorities. They’re making a mockery of themselves. What on Earth are they afraid of? While gangs are murdering one another and politicians are killing journalists and robbing the country blind, they seem to have more pressing worries than Ricky Martin and his risqué concerts. Yes, this is a Catholic country and there is a lot of machismo, but it’s also a Latin country and Ricky Martin is a huge Latin star. It’s like George Micheal (another artistic who I think is completely and utterly overrated) being banned from the USA. Oh wait, he was……

pic found on the internet, but is this the image that Honduran authorities want to show of itself around the world?

My mate Hazel showed me a clip from the Irish comedy Savage Eye, which pretty much sums up the situation, and makes the Government here making a ridicule of itself. Here it is.

About Nicholas Rogers

I am an English journalist/copywriter living in Tegucigalpa, Honduras, and I have been here since 2011. I originally came to work with Casa Alianza, which supports street kids and vulnerable youths. I then stayed on, after meeting Pamela Cruz Lozano, who calls me her adopted Catracho. I work freelance journalism and I have my own translation business. Why did I come here? For the challenge, to open my mind and get out of my comfort zone. I love literature and I've written a book with street kids. I write novels, short stories and poetry, all of which you will find on this blog, as well as a lot of information about Honduras. View all posts by Nicholas Rogers

Leave a Reply

