Gunshots and Juan Luis Guerra

Hello everyone

I have completely forgotten to tell you about my time in Costa Rica. I hope to do it in the following updates. I also forgot to tell you that I had a gun thrust in my face last Friday. I was with my friends Hazel and David in Colonial Palmiras quite late at night, walking down the road in torrential rainfall. We were looking for a taxi to take us to some bar when we heard gunshots behind us, about two blocks away. I thought it was best that we took shelter in a nearby building where there were security guards. When I approached, a security guard just thrusted a gun in my face and told to go away. It wasn’t so much that he put the gun in my face, but the fact his hand was shaking that made me a bit nervous. “Don’t make any sudden movements,” I told to myself. I told him that I was a gringo and I had no gun, and that I had approached him only because we heard gunshots and we wanted to get off the street. He didn’t seem to care and told me to move on. I did so, joined Hazel and David and we headed to a petrol station where there were now armed police who had heard the shots and a lot of nervous people. We then jumped in a taxi and after a minute or so, Hazel and me had the following conservation:

Nick: Fuck me, that security pointed a gun at me.

Hazel: Did he?

Nick: Yeah!

Hazel: Oh.

And that was that. The rest of the night passed by fine. We went to a bar and watched a small man play live music (I can’t remember his name but he was from the Dominican Republic and he played John Lennon’s Imagine in Spanish). There is a jolly green photo of him below.

And here is a video of John Lennon’s Imagine with Spanish subtitles, sung by the scouser himself. Maybe I should play it to the nervy little security guard with the shaky hand.

Apart from that, there is nothing much new to tell you, only it’s been getting really cold here. Not -15c or anything, but cold enough to give you a chill. I’ve grown accustomed to tropical heat. It makes me a little worried about returning home to the snow in December. I think I’m going to spend the whole of January in the Botanical Gardens in Brum to get over the withdrawal symptoms. Why can’t England be a tropical country? Shit country.

I have been doing lots of writing for the book this week, so I’ve been a bit of a hermit sat behind the computer. Also, David Beckham was in Tegucigalpa on Thursday, as his club LA Galaxy were playing Motagua in the equilivant of the Central/North American Champions League. LA Galaxy won 1-0. It was a crap game and a crap performance from Beckham and I wish I could get those 90 minutes back. All the girls screamed when he touched the ball. So what! I get that every time I walk through Central Tegus, and I’m better looking. Just not as rich. Honduras seemed happy that he was here though.

Tonight I’m going to a Juan Luis Guerra concert. To those not familiar with him back home, he’s a very famous musician throughout the Latin American, known for playing lovely chilled bachatas with thoughtful lyrics. I’m going to include a song of his I like below. Enjoy.

About Nicholas Rogers

I am an English journalist/copywriter living in Tegucigalpa, Honduras, and I have been here since 2011. I originally came to work with Casa Alianza, which supports street kids and vulnerable youths. I then stayed on, after meeting Pamela Cruz Lozano, who calls me her adopted Catracho. I work freelance journalism and I have my own translation business. Why did I come here? For the challenge, to open my mind and get out of my comfort zone. I love literature and I've written a book with street kids. I write novels, short stories and poetry, all of which you will find on this blog, as well as a lot of information about Honduras. View all posts by Nicholas Rogers

Leave a Reply

