Yuscaran – Part Four

Dear all

As expected, since my last entry, I have not had much time to update my blog because I have been travelling throughout Honduras, Guatemala and Belize with my folks, we well as celebrating my birthday which was yesterday. I am now 32. I often say that, like a cheese or a good wine, we get better with age. Well that’s me all over, may I say so myself. So I am going to dedicate a Noel Gallagher song to myself, one of his new ones, AKA….What a Life!, as well as my time in Honduras and Central America.

I am writing from events over a week ago. I will keep it short. After visiting the strange little museum, we knew we had to head back to catch the last bus, or have to find a hotel in Yuscaran, which would have been difficult on the little money we had. We took a few more photos of us posing by the church, which you can see below, bought some churros and got on the bus. The ride back was magnificent. Stunning. With the sun setting behind the Zamberano mountains. It was truly wonderful, although slightly ruined when a very overweight women with a BO and farting problem made me have to hold my nose part of the way home. Also, the bus driver was playing rancheros, some of them by Vicente Fernandez, which I have written about before. I closed myself off and looked at the stunning beauty smacking me in the face on the other side of the window, making me feel even more like an adopted Catracho: proud to be seeing my adopted lands in such glory, with lush green valleys and the tropical incense seeping through. With the florescent colours pouring through the bus, it inspired me to write this small poem.

The last bus from Yuscaran

Vapors of wildlife fill my body,

Once polluted by toxins,

Now gushing with sun rays,

Poured in by the florescent sunset

As the bus rides into it lethargically.

Rolling hills of lush pine,

Stray beats of a ranchero enter my mind,

Otherwise it is blank,

Only the joys of nature entering my bloodstream,

And the smiles on faces around me,

Leave my worries under the carpet another day.

Here are a few pictures of us posing anyway.

 

 

 

For some reason, I don’t know why, the moment reminds me of the song Secret Garden by Bruce Springsteen, with it’s orchestra. Not so much the lyrics. Something did it, so here it is. It’s the tune from the film Jerry Maguire, which is not a bad film to be fair. Also a little song for Pame.

About Nicholas Rogers

I am an English journalist/copywriter living in Tegucigalpa, Honduras, and I have been here since 2011. I originally came to work with Casa Alianza, which supports street kids and vulnerable youths. I then stayed on, after meeting Pamela Cruz Lozano, who calls me her adopted Catracho. I work freelance journalism and I have my own translation business. Why did I come here? For the challenge, to open my mind and get out of my comfort zone. I love literature and I've written a book with street kids. I write novels, short stories and poetry, all of which you will find on this blog, as well as a lot of information about Honduras. View all posts by Nicholas Rogers

Leave a Reply

