Last night in Belize

Dear all

Sorry I haven’t updated recently. As you know from previous posts I have been in Belize. I can’t remember if I wrote in my post that some little fecker entered my room while I was in Copan and stole my Nikon camera and a watch which a good friend gave me to come out to Honduras with. I have a new camera, thanks to my parents, as an early xmas present. Which reminds me, it’s the 1st – time to eat the first chocolate in your calender. If you’re like some of my friends back home (i.e. Stuart Harborne), you’ve probably made it to xmas eve already and about to start a new calender.

I will update what happened in Belize in the next coming updates. It included throwing up on my only day in Guatemala because I ate too many beans, it included my birthday, it included cave swimming, it included going to the sacred Garifuna village of Barranco, it included being chased on a tiny island on Caye Caulker by two dogs, breaking my ribs and nearly being swept off by currents, it included swimming with a turtle, sting rays and nurse sharks, it included sitting next to a mennonite for five hours and stank (he inspired a poem though), it included seeing crocodiles, howler monkeys and macaw parrots. It has been, of course, an adventure, seeing good old British Honduras. One of the reasons for coming was to see my parents, as well as an old flat mate of my father’s who happens to the former Prime Minister of Belize, Said Musa. I got to hang out with him on a tropical island. I bet you haven’t. He was great. His wife, Joan, was also great and showed us around Belize. She’s originally from Manchester but has made Belize her home. I hope to do the same with Spanish Honduras. Now I need to make my girlfriend Pam Prime Minister so Joan and me and say “snap” and high-five each other.

I bought a little book to write poetry in the other day. I have been in a writing mood. I will include a poem now about Belize City. It’s not the prettiest city but it is by no means the worst. I have tried to do it in a creole accent, which is the main language here. Don’t laugh too much!

Belize City

The first page of me book an’ I’m bein’ driven round Belize City,
De sea is calm, the sun is out an’ de pot holes don’t cause no pity.
Houses on stilts to be safe from a Hurricane Hattie,
Fried jacks an’ stewed beans sold to be make me a Caribbean fatty.
Me driver dodge the bikes an’ da cars get confused at roundabouts,
The drainage canals are so full dat next season there be no drought, man.
Da revolving bridge takes its loads as da people pass it to go to Brodies,
Drinkin’ Belkins, smoking herbs to be a rasta roadie.
There’s life in de air even if da city ain’t much pretty,
But cum back at sunset an’ the docks look less gritty,
Da tourist an’ the fish boats come in an’ seagulls follows eatin’ little fishes,
An’ da locals stand by whistling at the sweet yankie girls an’ their tanned white titties.
Dis place has a calm charm dat can only be found in Belize,
And it fills me with dread going back to da bad British freeze. 
 
 
About Nicholas Rogers

I am an English journalist/copywriter living in Tegucigalpa, Honduras, and I have been here since 2011. I originally came to work with Casa Alianza, which supports street kids and vulnerable youths. I then stayed on, after meeting Pamela Cruz Lozano, who calls me her adopted Catracho. I work freelance journalism and I have my own translation business. Why did I come here? For the challenge, to open my mind and get out of my comfort zone. I love literature and I've written a book with street kids. I write novels, short stories and poetry, all of which you will find on this blog, as well as a lot of information about Honduras. View all posts by Nicholas Rogers

5 responses to “Last night in Belize

Leave a Reply

