Noel Gallagher . . . . it’s been a week

Hi all

For all of you who have been following my blog and for everyone who knows me, you will know I have an absurd amount of love for the man, Noel Gallagher. It’s not homo-erotic (yet) but just a pure obsession for his music. The man, for me, is a genius. Simple songs that have so much energy. He’s excellent. He played a beautiful acoustic version of Supersonic. Loved it.

 

It is a week since I saw him at Birmingham NIA. I bought a tshirt and a programme and a cider and THEN remembered I was on the dole. Fuck it. It was a once in a life time kind of thing. Noel was amazing. I bet Liam’s kicking himself. Please see the pictures below.

 

 

So, I want to give a huge computerised kiss to my girlfriend, Pamela Cruz Lozano, who kindly bought me the ticket. Un beso, mi amor – te amo tanto x 

I want to add something though. I have beef to settle with HSBC bank. It’s me versus them. I am likely to be laughed at but I would like to tell the world about the dirty little scam they pulled on my girlfriend. Poor Pammie had problems using her card (because Ticketmaster doesn’t like debit cards from Honduras it seems). I bought the ticket and Pam tried to transfer the money. Unfortunately that didn’t work either. She then had to open an account with HSBC to transfer the money to my HSBC account. The World’s Local Bank I hear you say? Is it bollocks. They charged her $30 for doing it. They said it was procedure. Maybe I should proceed with sticking my finger up the arse of their procedure makers while they roll around in their 14 billion quid profit in the last year. I think it is an absolute disgrace to call yourself “The World’s Local Bank” for simply pressing a button and making $30. It’s false advertising and they should not con their customers like this. If you are thinking of opening a bank account any time soon, I would like to recommend one of the other amazing immoral banks around. Just not HSBC. I know they’re all probably the same. I just thought that I should broadcast that. The staff at Kings Heath branch of HSBC looked quite embarrassed when I told them. You could tell from their facial expressions that their employers were laughing at their customers – probably all the way to the bank (excuse the pun). There’s little the staff could do. Nothing will change because of it, but at least it helps me vent my rage.

Anyway, rant over.

Thank you Pammie. Noel played a beautiful version of Talk Tonight last week. Thousands of people joined in: it was like one big mass karoke. This is for you.

About Nicholas Rogers

I am an English journalist/copywriter living in Tegucigalpa, Honduras, and I have been here since 2011. I originally came to work with Casa Alianza, which supports street kids and vulnerable youths. I then stayed on, after meeting Pamela Cruz Lozano, who calls me her adopted Catracho. I work freelance journalism and I have my own translation business. Why did I come here? For the challenge, to open my mind and get out of my comfort zone. I love literature and I've written a book with street kids. I write novels, short stories and poetry, all of which you will find on this blog, as well as a lot of information about Honduras. View all posts by Nicholas Rogers

Leave a Reply

