Good deeds – Nic Clark, Alessa Rigal, Emma Victoria Lay, Jonathan Hurtault

Hi all

I remember back two years ago when I was calling on you all to help fund me to Honduras. I remember how daunting it was to think of ideas and get them up and running, especially at a time when the recession was hitting everyone hard and there was little old me with cap in hand.  

I now have a number of friends who are raising money for great causes. They are running marathons and climbing mountains and doing quiz nights. There are plenty of social networking sights, but as I have quite a few followers worldwide on my blog, I thought I would drum up a bit of interest  for them and see if you could possibly donate some money. It would be much appreciated. I feel I owe many people great favours, so I’ll start here.

Nic Clark

The first is Nic Clark, who was volunteer co-ordinator at the Refugee Council in Birmingham where I used to work. He was a great colleague and is a good friend of mine. He left the Refugee Council to continue with his good work with the para Olympic team in 2010 in Rwanda. Unfortunately he is a Blackburn Rovers fan but no one is perfect, are they! He is running the London Marathon to raise money for Children in Crisis, along with pub quizzes around London.

http://www.justgiving.com/nic-clark

Alessa Rigal

Alessa is a good friend who also worked as a volunteer at the Refugee Council. She is also running the London Marathon for Children in Crisis, and Nic and Alessa have been training together. Alessa helped me raise money for me to go to Honduras. She came to my poetry night back in October 2010 and we often chat in Spanish. She hails from California, but has a French father (boooo) and her mother is from Peru (yeahhh!). She now lives in London with her fella David. They have let me stay at their place a couple of times. Her Justgiving site is below.

http://www.justgiving.com/Alessa-Rigal

Emma Victoria Lay

Emma was brilliant on my poetry night. She was getting people to dig deep and buy raffle tickets and she took tickets on the door. She is a star and no doubt I would have not made as much money without her. I feel bad that I haven’t caught up with her since I’ve been back, so hopefully drumming up some more interest for fundraising for the British Blind Sport will help her out too. I have heard from friends that she is organising a band night. When I know more, I’ll let you know. She too is running the London Marathon!

http://www.justgiving.com/Emmamarathon2012

Jonathan Hurtault

Jonathan is a true spartan from my days at the University of Central Lancashire. He is a Prestonian but chooses to support Arsenal. I have always enjoyed ribbing him about this. I can’t really call him a glory supporter because Arsenal haven’t won anything in years (they nearly did in 2011, but they lost to . . . . er, who?). Joking aside, Jonathan is going to take part in an amazing challenge. It’s the three peak challenge, in 24 hours. I am not too sure which peaks they are. It is best to see his website, which will tell you more. He is doing for Action Medical Research, which helps babies and young children. Jonathan has always been a good noble lad and I’ve always enjoyed having a laugh with him. Good luck buddy!  

http://www.action.org.uk/sponsor/themightymountainmammals#.Tz-pp126q3Y.facebook

Please see if you can help four of my good friends out. They are taking part in great challenges to raise money for such wonderful causes.

Thank you for your time

About Nicholas Rogers

I am an English journalist/copywriter living in Tegucigalpa, Honduras, and I have been here since 2011. I originally came to work with Casa Alianza, which supports street kids and vulnerable youths. I then stayed on, after meeting Pamela Cruz Lozano, who calls me her adopted Catracho. I work freelance journalism and I have my own translation business. Why did I come here? For the challenge, to open my mind and get out of my comfort zone. I love literature and I've written a book with street kids. I write novels, short stories and poetry, all of which you will find on this blog, as well as a lot of information about Honduras. View all posts by Nicholas Rogers

2 responses to “Good deeds – Nic Clark, Alessa Rigal, Emma Victoria Lay, Jonathan Hurtault

Leave a Reply

