Nancy Whiskey

Dear all

I have just come back from Glasgow to celebrate my Aunty’s 60th birthday. It was fantastic. Aunty Gill didn’t have a clue and I got to see Glasgow again, a city that I have always loved. Unfortunately Celtic didn’t win. Honduras and ex Motagua superstar Emilio Izaguirre (there has to be a Honduras connection somewhere) was playing. Someone hid my Guinesses somewhere. I found them the next day. Feckers. But I enjoyed it all immensely. If I get pictures of the evening, I’ll put them online. My cousin Sam West and Callum McCann played a few songs, who play in the bands Fortunate Sons and Big Figure. I have put them on my blog before. They supported Jools Holland last year. As I stated, they played a lot of music last night. Some of which I heard, some of them I missed unfortunately due to me going to bed early after mixing medication for my ribs and alcohol. There was one song that Callum played that I absolutely love. Nancy Whiskey. Shane MacGowan and the Popes played it on one of their cds, but I have heard it played at various Pogues’ gigs too. It is originally an old Scottish folk song about the dangers of drinking alcohol (maybe that cockhead David Cameron and his out of touch Home Office Minister Theresa May were listening to it when they thought “let’s raise the prices of alcohol because we think poor people are irresponsible with  their booze”). I will include a cover of the Shane MacGowan and the Popes version below. The video is brilliant. Look closely and you can see them defacing posters of Margaret Thatcher. Maybe David Cameron has seen the video too and wanted to be a bit vindictive after seeing posters of his little Tory mentor ruined. It’s the kind of thing he would do. Anyway, here it is. WordPress is still being shit, so there is a link below.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WTwFtITN6Ag

 

About Nicholas Rogers

I am an English journalist/copywriter living in Tegucigalpa, Honduras, and I have been here since 2011. I originally came to work with Casa Alianza, which supports street kids and vulnerable youths. I then stayed on, after meeting Pamela Cruz Lozano, who calls me her adopted Catracho. I work freelance journalism and I have my own translation business. Why did I come here? For the challenge, to open my mind and get out of my comfort zone. I love literature and I've written a book with street kids. I write novels, short stories and poetry, all of which you will find on this blog, as well as a lot of information about Honduras. View all posts by Nicholas Rogers

Leave a Reply

