6 days to go – Part 2

  • Hi all

Continuing this bit by bit, as I have a lot to do and a lot of people to catch up with. Will be updating what I have been up to at late in nice bite size chunks over the coming days. If you don’t want to know what I’ve been up to, stop fucking reading and piss off and read 50 fucking Shades of Grey. It’s not in any particular order.

  • My brother’s stag do – we went to do the Glee Club on Hurst Street. To those who don’t know this street, it is the gay area of Birmingham. My brother decided, rather conveniently, chose his last night of singledom on the night of GAY PRIDE. It was a fun night and Ben, Rob, Stephen, Dave, and myself had many laughs and drinks and my brother nearly set fire to the house from the log fire. I was asleep and take no responsibility for the smokey room and burning smell of something or other.
  • I saw the Queen. Of course, there were queens on Hurst Street but I am talking about another location and time completely. She was coming out of Snow Hill station. We were allowed out of work to see her. I didn’t see much of the Jubilee so this was my own Jubilee moment. I don’t really like or care for the monarchy. Unless I were in it of course! 

  • I saw a bad film last night. Step Brothers. Will Farrell. Usually I like his films. This one was shite. It’s a shame. Maybe I’m growing up! It was cheap, but now I know why.
  • A film I will recommend is Carla’s song. It’s a Ken Loach film about Nicaragua and the civil war in the 80s/90s, the Americans getting their fingers to mucky (and murky) political waters, and a Glasgow bus driver. I have been to Glasgow many a time. I haven’t as of yet been to the land of Nicos but as I am moving back to Honduras, which sits right next door, in less than a week, I hope to see it at some point. It’s a beautiful film. Sad, informative and interesting like many of Loach’s films. I liked it a lot. It has Robert Carlyle, if you’re a fan. See below.

  • Another interesting book I am going to recommend you is Don’t Be Afraid, Gringo, by Elvia Alvarado, who is a campasina from Honduras. It was transcribed by an American back in the 80s when you had rich families taking over plots of land in the countryside that belonged to poor farmers. Elvia is a great feminist and has fought to improve the rights of poor and women for many years. She has been tortured and had a hard life, like many people in Honduras. It’s a reminder where I’m returning to. It’s also better than 50 Shades of Grey.
  • I have also been online to my beautiful and brilliant girlfriend, Pamela Cruz Lozano, who has helped find a temporary apartment for me. She’s been patient and waited long and hard while I get my little white chele arse back to the land of Catrachos. So here she is.

About Nicholas Rogers

I am an English journalist/copywriter living in Tegucigalpa, Honduras, and I have been here since 2011. I originally came to work with Casa Alianza, which supports street kids and vulnerable youths. I then stayed on, after meeting Pamela Cruz Lozano, who calls me her adopted Catracho. I work freelance journalism and I have my own translation business. Why did I come here? For the challenge, to open my mind and get out of my comfort zone. I love literature and I've written a book with street kids. I write novels, short stories and poetry, all of which you will find on this blog, as well as a lot of information about Honduras. View all posts by Nicholas Rogers

Leave a Reply

