4 days to go – Part 3

Dear all

Should be the last update of the Cornish little tale.

After Godrevy, we stopped by the cider place, Henley’s or something or other, where they had the Cornish Rattler. Cider is one of those things I will really miss in Honduras. Maybe I could make my own brew with mangos and guavas and make a huge packet out of it. Brain wave. If Hazel Mealy is reading this, start looking at cider recipes on wikipedia missy! I will miss pasties too, but enchalidas are quite similar. They are not too disimilar. I’ll miss the lush steak meat in them though. And clotted cream. Roddas Clotted Cream, just for namesake!

I then went for a walk through St German and Sheviock and Portwrinkle beach. It was beautiful seeing it all in sunset. Somewhere along the line I sprained my ankle. It f–king well hurt for more than a week!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

So, I am saying goodbye to it all again. It’s a place I really love. It’s completely sentimental, but I do feel different in Cornwall. Just like I feel different in Honduras. The two places inspire me artistically somehow. Something in the food or water. Birmingham does too in a funny way. Bolt loves it. So do Warren and Blake. They said it after they took a clean sweep in the Men’s 200 metre Olympic final. So suck eggs rival cities who like to take the piss out of Brum (i.e. bitter Mancunians and your 4th city status (Liverpool is 3rd). Jokes aside, these isles I love.

It’s the people I’ll miss. Mum. Dad. Ben. Liz. Catherine. Ella. Leo. Gill. Pat. Sam. Hannah. Stuart. Rob. Niku. Jordan. Dutch Matt. Mary Sheard and her vicious rants. Boaz. The Refugee Council gang. My cat Huey. Who speaks more sense than ANY of the above people. It’s been nice being back, but I am going back to Honduras for a lot of unfinished business, with the book, to start an NGO, to start off a mango cider business or kiwi jacket outlet organisation, whatever comes my way. Someone very important to me is waiting. Pamela Cruz Lozano. I can’t wait to be with her. Just four days to go. Te amo. 

I am going to leave you with an Ian Brown (a manc) song that I may have included before, but it’s got great lyrics and a nice latin sounding trumpet, to make it a bit of a fusion between English and Latin cultures. It’s an optimistic song, and when you take big steps like this, optimisim is always useful. I hope to see some of those cheles listed above in the land of Catrachos some time soon.

For whatever reason, WordPress is being a knobhead and not letting me include the video on my blog, so I am just having to include the link. Enjoy!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6BD-c8padYs

 

 

About Nicholas Rogers

I am an English journalist/copywriter living in Tegucigalpa, Honduras, and I have been here since 2011. I originally came to work with Casa Alianza, which supports street kids and vulnerable youths. I then stayed on, after meeting Pamela Cruz Lozano, who calls me her adopted Catracho. I work freelance journalism and I have my own translation business. Why did I come here? For the challenge, to open my mind and get out of my comfort zone. I love literature and I've written a book with street kids. I write novels, short stories and poetry, all of which you will find on this blog, as well as a lot of information about Honduras. View all posts by Nicholas Rogers

Leave a Reply

