The mangos are back, bitches (and the guavas)

Dear all

I have just come back from the market near the stadium in Tegucigalpa and I have spent just under three quid on a very healthy fix called fruit. Of course, too much of it can turn into a downward spiral (in this case, the shits). I am going to launch into a mango and I am going to heaven while you’re going to be getting hungry.

fuck, yeah!

I also had two pupusas with quesillo. These lovely flavours keep coming back to me. I adore the fried hot dough breaking down in your mouth, so small but so filling, and the salty cheese making the dough all gooey. I love the market down near the stadium. You feel you’re money is going back to the people. Not to Walmart, where three avocados for 20 lempiras (65p, give or take)  means f–k all to those big businesses. The market sellers are good fun as well. They are around the world. Mostly. I remember my sister when she was twelve bartering these experienced market sellers down to the break of business in Turkey a good few years back. She terrified the crap out of not just the market sellers, but my own parents. She was an aggressive little thing.

I also saw a sign advertising a “sick-pack of Coca Cola” for so many lempiras. It put a whole new meaning to that business, doesn’t it! Probably a typo, but I like to believe the market seller had a bit of sense of humour about him.

Anyway, I am leaving you with a song that expresses my love for mangos. Watch the video. It sums up how I feel when I taste them. Fuck, yeah!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2YhNQjaTrFI

About Nicholas Rogers

I am an English journalist/copywriter living in Tegucigalpa, Honduras, and I have been here since 2011. I originally came to work with Casa Alianza, which supports street kids and vulnerable youths. I then stayed on, after meeting Pamela Cruz Lozano, who calls me her adopted Catracho. I work freelance journalism and I have my own translation business. Why did I come here? For the challenge, to open my mind and get out of my comfort zone. I love literature and I've written a book with street kids. I write novels, short stories and poetry, all of which you will find on this blog, as well as a lot of information about Honduras. View all posts by Nicholas Rogers

Leave a Reply

