Colds, job interviews, dodgy songs and even dodgier music videos

Hi y’all

I wish you all well. This week has been uneventful due to an awful cold that I have just about recovered from thanks to Sudagripe, Jamaica tea and Halls Soothers. All that remains is an awful cough which I’m unwisely trying to cure by drinking beer and wine (it’s an old wife’s tale of a cure (an old drunk wife maybe)).

Last Tuesday I had a job interview at a bilingual school to work in the library. The school is called DelCampo and it is one of the best (and expensive) schools in Honduras. Some of the top years get an IPAD and work from it. I can’t see that coming at Hall Green Secondary School any time soon, but it’s something for it to aspire to. I don’t think I was successful in the interview. I wasn’t well. Simple as. It was good to get an interview though.

Last night, we celebrated Aurora’s birthday (it was about two weeks ago) in Pam’s house. I still can’t pronounce her name correctly (there’s too many r’s in her name. It’s not my fault) so I call her Ahora (which means “now”) or I shorten it even more to Ya (which also means “now”). This is a country where half the people call me Nick Vapour Rub so nobody can complain. Anyway, at some point in the night, we started looking at some popular Latin songs, some which were catchy, but mostly slightly naca (tacky) and the videos were, well, odd.

The first one isn’t too bad and is quite catchy. I heard it in the market yesterday and watched a young lady, rather large, dancing to it with a tent pole as if she should be in a certain type of bar where girls dance like that. Hazel was with me. She was dancing a little bit too. It’s by 3Ball MTY and the song is called Intentalo (Me Prende). It’s Mexican. I don’t know if it’s made it to the Brummie bars, but I think it might soon (nah, probably not). The lads watching will probably like the pretty lady singing in a sultry way and my young niece Ella Rogers will probably like those silly boys dancing in curly shoes. What are they like!

The second is one of Pamela’s favourite’s. She got all excited listening to it. I think it is from Peru. It is La Tigresa del Oriente and the song is Nuevo Amanecer. It has an older women in a tight leopard saying “Rico Papi” on a boat and three bouncy females and a healthy young man dancing in a way which doesn’t really fit the beat or the rhythm. The editing is interesting. Watch out for the little boy who gets into the background of a shot of a girl dancing and gets shouted off by the angry director. My cousin Sam West should do a duet with her or get the director to help with the music videos. See where it gets you!

The next one is Aurelio Martinez and the song’s called Pompis con Pompis. It’s punta and I think it’s Honduran from the Garifuna communities. It means pretty much “arses with arses” or “buttocks with buttocks”, as you will see from the video.

The next is a slightly more serious song, also from Peru, from a young lady called Wendy Sulca singing a song about beer. I can’t understand too well. Not because my Spanish is poor, but just because her voice is too squeaky. I think it’s about the bad effects of too much beer and the social problems it causes, maybe in her own life. There’s some nice landscape images though.

Last but not least, we cannot forget good old Yasuri Yamileth – Gillette. How could we? She keeps repeating her name in this song. It’s regaeton and you know that I hate that shit with enormous passion. She’s from Panama and is not known for her lyric writing, but she is bad ass and we should respect and fear for that alone. Let’s leave it at that.

About Nicholas Rogers

I am an English journalist/copywriter living in Tegucigalpa, Honduras, and I have been here since 2011. I originally came to work with Casa Alianza, which supports street kids and vulnerable youths. I then stayed on, after meeting Pamela Cruz Lozano, who calls me her adopted Catracho. I work freelance journalism and I have my own translation business. Why did I come here? For the challenge, to open my mind and get out of my comfort zone. I love literature and I've written a book with street kids. I write novels, short stories and poetry, all of which you will find on this blog, as well as a lot of information about Honduras. View all posts by Nicholas Rogers

Leave a Reply

