Lions outside Wendy’s

Hi all

I forgot to add in the last update about a strange experience that happened when passing the Wendy’s fast food restaurant near Plaza Miraflores on Saturday. I was going past in a taxi collectivo when I saw a lorry parked up outside. At first I couldn’t believe it. I thought they were stuffed lions. There were five or six. I thought it was strange that they would put stuffed lions in a cage outside Wendy’s, but there you go, it’s Honduras. Strange things happen. And they certainly did. One of the lions moved. Dozens of people who watching on. It was even stranger was that the bars of the cage were quite large, especially from where I was sat. If someone got too close, injuries would take place. Unfortunately, I couldn’t take a picture (I didn’t have my camera for starters, but even if I did, I would not brandish it in a taxi collectivo).

I told my friend Hazel about it, and she went to take a longer look. She told me the lions were sedated to pieces, and the owners were also walking around with a leopard on a leash, while people petted it like a dog.

I have decided to include a video about lions attacking people. It as a) to encourage people not to get too close to wild fierce creatures b) standing up for Simba and the animal kingdom, getting revenge on those you try animals so poorly like that. c) for comic value. Enjoy! If you have kids, maybe they shouldn’t watch it!

Don’t piss off lions, Honduras!!

About Nicholas Rogers

I am an English journalist/copywriter living in Tegucigalpa, Honduras, and I have been here since 2011. I originally came to work with Casa Alianza, which supports street kids and vulnerable youths. I then stayed on, after meeting Pamela Cruz Lozano, who calls me her adopted Catracho. I work freelance journalism and I have my own translation business. Why did I come here? For the challenge, to open my mind and get out of my comfort zone. I love literature and I've written a book with street kids. I write novels, short stories and poetry, all of which you will find on this blog, as well as a lot of information about Honduras. View all posts by Nicholas Rogers

Leave a Reply

