A month with no updates – lo siento

Hello all

I must say, I have been a been quiet on the blogging front. This is mainly because I have been working my chele arse off doing class plans. I said about a month ago that I am working at Academia Europea. It’s not my dream job, and in my opinion, the money is shite, but as many people have pointed out, I get paid more than many thousands of Hondurans, so I can’t complain too much. 12o lemps an hour is about £4. The minus point is that, like all English teaching jobs, I don’t get paid for the planning time. It’s been taking hours to do, mainly because I haven’t taught in a while, but also, some of my students are the most idle I have ever witnessed (saying that, I was even more idle than they were at school, so I can’t slate them too much), and they expect to come to class, without doing the homework, without revising, and expect to learn. It’s frustrating at times. It’s not all the students though, I must say. I have my favourites. I know I should be professional, but I don’t want to be. The ones who try, I’m more arsed about. Motivation to the ones who aren’t? If you pay a shit load of money to come to class but can’t be arsed to study, there is something twisted in your logic. It’s not my fault. Some of the students have had poor teaching in the past – one of the reasons for poor motivation. I am teaching an advanced class but they two of the students are still lower intermediate in my opinion. They are missing huge chunks of grammar, and I have to concentrate on newer things and push them forward with the programme. I’m not allowed to go back and reteach things. It’s hard work.

Another reason it takes so long doing class plans is that the students have a newer edition of the grammar text book. When doing activities, especially reading exercises, we aren’t always working from the same hymn sheet, so to speak. The school say they are waiting on new text books for the teachers. But myself?

I’m not too sure how true this is. The funny thing about the text book is that it is American, with topics that promote Americanism. The theme of the chapter I have just taught were the American elections (the Bush/Al Gore election though!!), so it has tied in well with the recent elections. Which brings me to the next part. My co-ordinator is great. Marie. She’s from the California but has lived in Hawaii (I have spelt that wrong, I think). She has been in banking for many years and is in her late 50s. She is fun and has a great character. She is in the process of making Academia Europea good because it has spent a long time being not very good. She fired lots of teachers who weren’t turning up or nearly 30 mins late for class! Teachers that is! Not students! She saw my CV, saw that I had the CELTA, then gave me a class the next day. There are a nice crowd of teachers, such as Mario, who has very loud and boisterious way of teaching. He is the eternal optimist, although he thinks saving Honduras from it’s problems is to drop a big bomb on the place. In my darkest moments, I can feel the same. His girlfriend Laura is from Oxford and is not like him at all: opposites match!  Frank is another great teacher. Funnily enough, I went to a rave with him about a year and a half ago at Pulphanzak and he drove. He’s a great guy who is intelligent, well read and fantastic to chat with.

Back to Marie though. She is changing the school. One of the problems has been mass disorganisation. Teachers were not able to do photocopying in school (one of the worst rules ever for teachers, ever. Ever. Ever). She is changing things like that, making sure people work in tandem. But even greater, is her dislike for Republicans. She hates them, which made it hilarious when talking about Romney and Ryan. I must say, if Americans had voted them in, I would have regarded yanks as stupid forever. Having voted for Bush junior twice, I lost a lot of respect for Americans as a whole. It’s a bit difficult for me to comment on, considering I have only stayed a day max in the USA, so I don’t know the feelings of yanks and the atmosphere with all the propaganda and media involved. It’s just my feeling on it.

It’s kind of taking up all my time so looking for other work has been infrequent. Like back home, there are very few job openings before xmas, so I have been told. I had a job interview with Global Brigades. It might have been a nice role, but they seem to have created a new rule about not being able to pay non-North Americans, even though they have employed a Spanish lad and my great Irish mate Hazel. It seems like a really shite excuse for not employing someone myself. I’d rather know the truth if I was bad interviewee or if I wasn’t the person they were looking for. I might be wrong.

Talking of Hazel, she is returning to Eire. I’m sad that she is leaving. She is a sister to me here. A really good friend. Her sister is having a “nipper” so, from a voice of experience of having a brilliant niece and nephew, it’s a fantastic new chapter in Hazel’s life.

It was my birthday earlier this week. It was spent sweetly with my beautiful girlfriend Pamela, and I have two wicked new pairs trainers, lots of money and a Union Jack flag cake.

I will be including information about my book, a taxi driver called Elvis and other things soon.

I have to pick up my pace. I’m off to see Motagua with another English friend right now.

I hope all is well back home.

About Nicholas Rogers

I am an English journalist/copywriter living in Tegucigalpa, Honduras, and I have been here since 2011. I originally came to work with Casa Alianza, which supports street kids and vulnerable youths. I then stayed on, after meeting Pamela Cruz Lozano, who calls me her adopted Catracho. I work freelance journalism and I have my own translation business. Why did I come here? For the challenge, to open my mind and get out of my comfort zone. I love literature and I've written a book with street kids. I write novels, short stories and poetry, all of which you will find on this blog, as well as a lot of information about Honduras. View all posts by Nicholas Rogers

Leave a Reply

