Buen Viaje Hazel Mealy

Hello all

Sorry it’s been a while. I’ve been very busy in the run up to Christmas with work, translating for a friend, job interviews, work with Casa Domingo, visiting Casa Alianza, immigration problems (yes, more problems!). I’ve also built up an unhealthy addiction to Tetris. Don’t ask me how. That’s just the way it is. I’ve been waiting to do an update. It’s quite a sad time as people are moving on. One of those is my great mate, Hazel Mealy, who has now left Honduras. She’s leaving behind her many great friends, but they’ll be always be mates wherever she choses to go. She is going to an Aunty very soon. We had some great times, some of which are in the poem below (she already has a copy of the poem, but fuck it, I want the world to see my talent).

Hazel Mealy Bug
Goodbye and good luck, young Mealy bug,
You’re a very special friend,
You hop and skip and jump through life,
And give the Catracho brain a mind-bend.
Living via the blow of the wind,
You take on what life brings,
Though we’ll miss you so much here,
We’re happy you’ll be experiencing new things.
You’re going to be an Aunty very soon,
And what a great craíc you’ll be!
Doing all the fun stuff, the playing and laughing,
Though nappy duty’ll turn your stomach, you’ll see!
You’ve been a great sport in our funny adventures,
You’ve a magical up-and-go persona.
Amapala, Yuscaran, model shows and Bigos,
Shared with stolen liquor, Salva Vida or Corona.
I really enjoyed chatting with you,
Soothing our minds from Honduran madness,
I’ll always appreciate that you’ve been there for me,
Especially through any Casa Alianza sadness.
You’ve always put me up in your place,
And you’ve never made a fuss.
But what makes me laugh even more is that:
You don’t give a fuck about Maras on the bus!
It sounds like a funny old cliché,
But you must always follow your dreams.
Doing something that you don’t like
Is only hollow, time-wasting and obscene.
You’ll soon be doing whatever you want to do,
Your determination is inspiring,
You have self-worth; you stand your ground,
And you’ve no time for those misfiring.
I hope that you can say the same,
That I’ve been a good friend to you,
You’ll always be mi hermana Catracha-Irlandesa,
I’ll miss you, you haven’t a clue.   

Written by a kid in a China shop. Only Hazel will understand that.

252920_10150630115960515_525655514_19099056_3040987_n

We had a couple of great parties to celebrate her parting. By that I mean, she was there and attended them. Not after she went. This update is a few days late (she left on Monday) but it’s never too late to dedicate a song to her. It includes a band from Ireland. You may have not heard of them. They’re called U2. The lead singer’s name is Bono. They’ll never make it big. Anyway, Bono is having a bit of a sing-a-long with a favourite of Hazel’s. No, it’s B*witched. Bono calls him the boss. Everyone else calls him Bruce Springsteen.

 

 

About Nicholas Rogers

I am an English journalist/copywriter living in Tegucigalpa, Honduras, and I have been here since 2011. I originally came to work with Casa Alianza, which supports street kids and vulnerable youths. I then stayed on, after meeting Pamela Cruz Lozano, who calls me her adopted Catracho. I work freelance journalism and I have my own translation business. Why did I come here? For the challenge, to open my mind and get out of my comfort zone. I love literature and I've written a book with street kids. I write novels, short stories and poetry, all of which you will find on this blog, as well as a lot of information about Honduras. View all posts by Nicholas Rogers

Leave a Reply

