Merry belated Christmas & A Happy New Year from Honduras – Part One

Dear everyone

Merry belated Christmas and Happy New Year first off. It’s been great for myself, very different to what I am used to, I must say. It’s also a few days away to the two year anniversary of doing this blog. I’ve enjoyed writing it. It’s quite emotional going back over the last two years and looking at updates, remembering happy and sad times, but also seeing ways I’ve progressed or made mistakes or whatever. A bit like a journal or personal diary, and it’s touching getting nice comments about it. I will try to continue it more often in 2013. Here’s a song by someone who you know that I love (if you’ve read my blog enough) to kind of celebrate two years of Nick “EL CATRACHO” Rogers. Noel Gallagher – The Dying of the Light.

It was nice having the time off work from Academia Europea. I have spent the time with Pamela and her family in Minas de Oro, translating my friend Nacho’s website, a tour operator for Central America (http://www.nwtrips.com/), having job interviews, immigration stuff and playing Tetris a lot. I have had a few days break from Tetris and I have overcome the cold turkey. I think I’m in the clear.

First of all, I thought I would include this little conversation I had with one of my students a couple of weeks ago at the Academia Europea. Many people liked it on facebook, because it is f–king hilarious.

Student: How much is a cock in the UK?
Me: Er….what?
Student: A cock.
Me: A cock? I, er, really don’t know.
Student: Oh. A cock costs 14 lempiras here.
Me: Eh?
Student: You can buy them in pulperias. I prefer diet cock.
Me: (laughing)
Student: Why you laugh?
Me: Yeah, you pronounce it coke.
Student: Why? What did I say?
Me: Haha. Never mind.

Another strange thing I noticed when standing on the roof of Academia Europea (don’t worry mum, it’s safe to do. It’s a roof and a classroom!), which looks out over Tegucigalpa, you can see the American School. Strangely enough, the slogan of American School is “The Eagle’s Nest”, which I’m pretty sure is what Hitler called his little luxury home when he wasn’t doing (or maybe he was still doing there) bad things in Salzbergwerk Berchtesgaden. Very bizarre to name an American school this, especially as Americans played a big part in liberating Europe from the very man. But there you go. Welcome to the Eagle’s Nest. It makes you wonder what they teach there. Is this a Hitler shrine?

Welcome to the Eagle's Nest - American School

Welcome to the Eagle’s Nest – American School

 

I have just realised that it is a little late and I am a bit tired so I will continue this update at the weekend. I will finish with a little literature. Just before Christmas, I went to see The Hobbit (I haven’t read the book, which is shameful considering Tolkien grew up just down the road from where I did – different decades, mind), which was touching, especially seeing the Shire. It reminded me of Sarehole Mill and Shire Park. Pam gave me Life of Pi, along with a journal and a t-shirt, which I am very grateful for, for Christmas. But what I really went to finish off with is a documentary about George Orwell. I am reading 1984 at the moment, which is one of the most astonishing books I have ever read. This might not be any great feat for many people reading this, because it is well known. I saw this documentary a few weeks ago and it moved me. It is a drama-documentary to an extent, which Orwell brilliantly acted by Chris Langham. While looking for jobs, which is chief aim of course (hopefully, fingers cross, something may come from the interview I had over Christmas), it is also to start a new book this year. That’s my New Year’s Resolution. That’s my 2013. To write more. This documentary is a great inspiration.

 

About Nicholas Rogers

I am an English journalist/copywriter living in Tegucigalpa, Honduras, and I have been here since 2011. I originally came to work with Casa Alianza, which supports street kids and vulnerable youths. I then stayed on, after meeting Pamela Cruz Lozano, who calls me her adopted Catracho. I work freelance journalism and I have my own translation business. Why did I come here? For the challenge, to open my mind and get out of my comfort zone. I love literature and I've written a book with street kids. I write novels, short stories and poetry, all of which you will find on this blog, as well as a lot of information about Honduras. View all posts by Nicholas Rogers

One response to “Merry belated Christmas & A Happy New Year from Honduras – Part One

Leave a Reply

