Merry belated Christmas & Happy New Year – Part Three

Dear all

To finish off and celebrate Minas de Oro being the most macho place on Earth, I want to boast about doing something quite macho myself. In the bright lights of Minas de Oro town centre, there were a few fair stalls, when you could win the odd teddy bear or water pistol or whatever. On the rifle shots, you had to hit little army figurines. It took me a few shots to get used to it, but Oh My God, did I nail it! With one shot, I have n0 idea how, breaking the rules of science I presume, I managed to shoot two figurines with one shot. And fuck yes. Especially because there was a greasy little wretch of a teenager joking with with greasy little wretch friends that, “El gringo no puede.” The gringo can’t do it. I turned around and put my full energy into giving him the biggest eat shit grin that I could muster. It seems that Minas de Oro is a place where bizarre things happen, like ghosts, strange parades of men dressed as ladies in horror costumes, me turning into a fire cracking and gun wielding cowboy. It’s odd. But it was enjoyable.

To celebrate the New Year and my time in Minas de Oro, I suppose I must include a true ranchero song, and who better than Vicente Fernandez? I choose this video especially because I love his trashy little butterfly tattoo. I reminds me that life is butter and all that!

Anyway, I hope 2013 is great for you all. Enjoy!

About Nicholas Rogers

I am an English journalist/copywriter living in Tegucigalpa, Honduras, and I have been here since 2011. I originally came to work with Casa Alianza, which supports street kids and vulnerable youths. I then stayed on, after meeting Pamela Cruz Lozano, who calls me her adopted Catracho. I work freelance journalism and I have my own translation business. Why did I come here? For the challenge, to open my mind and get out of my comfort zone. I love literature and I've written a book with street kids. I write novels, short stories and poetry, all of which you will find on this blog, as well as a lot of information about Honduras. View all posts by Nicholas Rogers

Leave a Reply

