Dusting off the cobwebs – Part one

My gosh, look at the dust! I’ve barely written a thing in over a month. Maybe two months. I’m sorry to those who follow regularly.

I have been busy with a few things. The last time I wrote, I can’t remember if I told you that I am now living somewhere new. It’s in the Las Colinas area, I feel a lot more safe, I share the apartment with three friends: Nacho, Mariela and Mariela’s brother, Wilmer(although after two weeks, Mariela got a job in Olanchito in the North, and Nacho has spent much of the time in his native Spain). I have also completely quit at Academia Europea (one of the strangest teaching experiences I have ever had), I was offered a job with Laureate University (although it hangs in the balance due to some immigration issues), Pam, her brother-in-law Roberto and I are starting off an events website in English about Tegucigalpa, I have built a wonderful addiction to Danli cigars, and played a lot on Song Pop. Oh yeah, I also finished off Nacho’s website, New World Trips

First off, I want to say goodbye to Eugenia and Jorge in the last apartament in Miraflores, as well as the vigilante who had a lovely ginger, tortoise patterned cat. I can’t remember the cat’s name or the vigilante’s, but I enjoyed my time there, although I am glad it came to an end. The apartment had no windows, and it was dodgy to walk around there (everywhere is here, but there especially). Living by myself was also doing my head in. Here I have a balcony, great food, it’s livelier, more people, safer, and Wilmer brings me cigars fresh from Danli each week, which are so rich in smell and taste (and are cheaper than the Cuban sort). Here is a lovely picture of the vigilante without a name, and me. I feel bad about forgetting his name. I once bought him Hershey bar to make me feel less guilty. It didn’t work, but he seemed happy. He was also polite, very friendly and he helped me a lot after I was mugged. He spent any wages he had on his daughter’s family and his cat and he lived, pretty much, in a wooden hut. I liked him. He was a good man. And I kind of miss him, as well as Eugiena and Jorge.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

About Nicholas Rogers

I am an English journalist/copywriter living in Tegucigalpa, Honduras, and I have been here since 2011. I originally came to work with Casa Alianza, which supports street kids and vulnerable youths. I then stayed on, after meeting Pamela Cruz Lozano, who calls me her adopted Catracho. I work freelance journalism and I have my own translation business. Why did I come here? For the challenge, to open my mind and get out of my comfort zone. I love literature and I've written a book with street kids. I write novels, short stories and poetry, all of which you will find on this blog, as well as a lot of information about Honduras. View all posts by Nicholas Rogers

Leave a Reply

