Robert Gallardo – Birding

Dear all

I hope you are all enjoying Easter. I would like to bring to your attention Robert Gallardo. I met him through my housemate and good friend Nacho, and he was just stopping off in Tegucigalpa last night, so we went for a typical restaurant called, err… Denny’s!

Anyway, sometimes many people, including myself, can get caught up in reporting the negative things that take place in this country. This, of course, can distract people from the more beautiful aspects of this country, such as the kind people, the archeological sites, and the stunning natural beauty. Whereas Costa Rica is able to promote itself as a fantastic and safe tourist destination, Honduras falls down on. What is true is that Honduras has more reserves and national parks than Costa Rica, and has many more species of bird. In terms of nature, the only thing Costa Rica possesses which Honduras doesn’t is active volcanos. But who wants to be scolded by boiling lava anyway? All the rest is here.

I must say, for Nacho and Robert, who both own businesses in the nature tourist industry, having these negative reports being squeezed out of Honduras only quashes business opportunities and potential clients. Robert has been here in Honduras over 20 years. He is a professional bird-watching tour guide (it is often called birding, in bird-watchers circles, but for some reason, birding seems as though it should be a lurid sexual practice of some sort, but that is probably just my filty mind). This friendly furry top-lipped Califorian lives in Lago Yajoa, but he is based all around Honduras selling tours, taking pictures of rare birds, and he also has other projects on the go, such as calenders and diaries. He seemed very insightful, patient and informative about nature, which is great for a novice like myself. But just one look at his website and you will see that he is pretty much an expert about “birding” (not a perverted sexual act, I assure you), as well as a very passionate bird-watcher in general. I suppose 20 years in this country full of birds (no sexist pun intended! (well, just a little bit)), you would have to be. You can go to his website on: http://www.birdsofhonduras.com/index.html

And here is the man himself, picture courtesy of his own website, Birds of Honduras:

robert_gallardo

About Nicholas Rogers

I am an English journalist/copywriter living in Tegucigalpa, Honduras, and I have been here since 2011. I originally came to work with Casa Alianza, which supports street kids and vulnerable youths. I then stayed on, after meeting Pamela Cruz Lozano, who calls me her adopted Catracho. I work freelance journalism and I have my own translation business. Why did I come here? For the challenge, to open my mind and get out of my comfort zone. I love literature and I've written a book with street kids. I write novels, short stories and poetry, all of which you will find on this blog, as well as a lot of information about Honduras. View all posts by Nicholas Rogers

Leave a Reply

