Mas X Menos and Music

Hi all

Mas X Menos. It is now one of my favourite shops and a source to some vital products that I need for my survival in Tegucigalpa.

i) Cadbury’s chocolate

ii) Guinness

A couple of years ago, I could find Cadbury’s at various Kielsa pharmacies around the city. But I have been scouring these chemists and found they have been taken away. Maybe it’s to do with the fact the company is bought by Kraft, because I have been seeing Hershey bars (also made by Kraft), which is basically dog shit compared to Cadbury’s. No offence to Hershey fans, or those who make the chocolate, but you don’t even come close. Come to Brum and we will go back to basics and show you how it’s done.

The only bad thing about this supermarket is that it is a bit expensive. It has connections to the American Embassy apparently and sells loads of imported goods (apart from f–king hair wax. I have plodge a load of greasy cream to style my hair, which gives my head more grease than fish and chip wrappers. It literally burns my scalp. It’s worse in these last few days with the heat, and the cream melts down my face. I hope you can excuse this vain moment, but if anyone knows where to buy hair wax/clay in Tegucigalpa, please me know). I have known of the supermarket’s existence for the last couple of years but for some reason, I had never been, even though many people told me to go when I have been asking around or putting requests on facebook, for lashings and lashings of Irish beer and Brummie chocolate. What makes it worse, I had many opportunities to go there, especially when my old friend Hazel lived practically opposite the supermarket and told me to go many-a-time to buy Guinness. I am so aggressively angry with myself for not listening to people, biting myself on the arm while looking at myself in the mirror, a real car crash of a man, a destruction of a once strong specimen, having to deal with the regret of the wasted time I have had to spend without these crucial products. Thank God Guinness and chocolate helps cure mental illnesses (apparently).

IMG000026

I can’t remember if I have done this already, but I would like to include a link to a blog by an English girl, also in Tegucigalpa, who also came to the land of Catrachos with ICYE, whose name is Jessica Marshall. I have read parts of her blog and she does remind me of myself a couple of years ago when everything was fresh and new, coming to terms with Honduras’ randomness and bizarre ways of functioning, trying to get to grips with these wonderful people, but also enjoying the wonderful surprises, some good, some bad, and the beautiful parts of this country. She is a Wakefield lass, although one of the other volunteers here at the moment is from Coventry, just down the road from Brum. I look forward to catching up with them. Here is a link:  http://jessicamarshall190590.wordpress.com/2013/04/16/lago-de-yajoa/.

I am also going to include another piece of writing that my friend Hazel sent me on facebook. It’s quite nice, original and interesting in a way, from the USA with little to do with Honduras, but still good fun. It’s called “The Onion”: http://www.theonion.com/articles/search-for-self-called-off-after-38-years,1794/.

Well now I have my Guinness and Cadbury’s fix sorted, I feel the world is filled with the sound of music, so I feel I should feel share with you music composed, play and mixed by family members back home, with an array of different genres.

 

The Big Figure

I have included this duo on my blog before, with Sam West, my cousin, and his old school friend, Calum McCann. I look forward to hearing their new album, which I can’t remember if it has been released yet or not, but they are going on tour soon, and they have a fair few groups supporting them. Please find links here, where you can find out where they are playing etc (to those back in the UK):

 

JazzCo

I introduced you to them a couple of weeks back on my blog, and they are making a reappearance in this update, as they are at Glad Cafe in the Pollockshaws area of Glasgow on the 21st April between 7-9pm. Patrick West, my Uncle and also father to Sam West, plays the sax in this six piece jazz combo and is the charmer in the white shirt in the video below. In the Glad Cafe, you can hear them playing a mix of standards and originals in the style of Swing, Bebop, Layin and Funk.

 

Suburban Sound Syndicate

Going back five years, more or less, my brother, sister and I found out an interesting part of family that we never knew we had through my father. Soon after we met this extended family, which was, and still is, an exciting time for us. Part of this family is Chester Jones, who when I met him had a radio show (http://nsbradio.co.uk/content/). He recently posted some of his mixes of Punk, Hip Hop and Ska, 7″ records that he has been mixing for the last eight records. I am going to post various links to the music. Have a good listen.

About Nicholas Rogers

I am an English journalist/copywriter living in Tegucigalpa, Honduras, and I have been here since 2011. I originally came to work with Casa Alianza, which supports street kids and vulnerable youths. I then stayed on, after meeting Pamela Cruz Lozano, who calls me her adopted Catracho. I work freelance journalism and I have my own translation business. Why did I come here? For the challenge, to open my mind and get out of my comfort zone. I love literature and I've written a book with street kids. I write novels, short stories and poetry, all of which you will find on this blog, as well as a lot of information about Honduras. View all posts by Nicholas Rogers

Leave a Reply

