The Pyramid Structure (aka la programa familiar) – Part One

Hola todos

I have been a bit muted in the last couple of weeks, mainly as I have been on the hunt for jobs. I have caught up with the two English volunteers who are with ICYE, who seem really nice, and kind of remind me of myself a couple of years ago, seeing Honduras in all it’s magic for the first time, and getting used to the unique way that this country functions. Laura Martin, the volunteer from Coventry, is still with a lad called Marco Duron, who is one of the first Catrachos I ever met when I had a pre-departure training event with ICYE back home, not far from sunny Southend. All weekend was spent slightly intoxicated, learning about Honduras, doing ice-breaking activities and talking about worse case scenarios. I haven’t seen Marco in over a year, and I believe it’s his birthday on Monday, so if he’s reading, have a good one.

Pyramids. That’s right. It’s the title of this update. We of course associate pyramid structures with Egypt, or boring pyramid diagrams in boring text books to explain boring theories of whatever boring concept it applies to. In Central America, the Mayans also built pyramid (and you can see them in Copan Ruinas), and they’re interesting. However, since I have been looking for work, I have come across a new type of pyramid structure forming, which aren’t at all as impressive as the wonderful ancient pyramids that are specified above. In fact, it looks a bit of a scam.

Maybe it’s a common thing in this world-wide, ever lasting financial crisis, but I have come across a couple of these pyramids now, which are as dodgy as each other. Some might think that it’s a sign where my destiny lies, but luckily I don’t believe in any destiny semantics bollocks and I’m just going to go with the opinion that these pyramids come looking for YOU, if YOU’RE broke, or if YOU have no job. They smell weakness, the high unemployment rates, the desperation, the poverty, and they swoop for it, like when a predator smells blood. This is probably not making any sense to you, but I will now tell my little story and all this pyramid and hunting rubbish will be revealed to you.

A couple of days ago, my wonderful girlfriend sent me a job advert. I must admit, it was a bit of an ambiguous job advertisement and smelled fishy, but I need work, it was advertised in a national newspaper, so I thought I’d give it a try.

537821_10152805063140515_1491930327_n

You can see what I mean by ambiguous. It doesn’t take a linguistic genius to know what “COMPANIA AMERICANA” means in English. It then goes on to say, quite obviously, that they “require personnel with or without experience, secondary education complete,” then information about the wages, a flexible timetable etc. By offering $1, 000 a month, that’s the reel. By Honduran standards, it’s very good, especially for people with just a secondary education with no experience. The lack of information obviously leads you to ask more questions. So there I was, calling the two numbers to find out who this company was and what the job entailed. No one picks up. I then get a call back from a man saying that I had an interview, without actually handing over any information about myself, and he would be sending the details of the interview in a text message, and to come with 50 lemps, which is just under £2. When I asked about the job, he told me all would be revealed on Friday (at the interview).

I didn’t know what to expect but I couldn’t turn anything down, no matter how much it smelled of dodge. After my last experience of working for an American company here, I felt like telling them where to get off. The interview was to take place in a hotel conference room in a hotel that I know well, so at least it wasn’t in Barrio Soto (a known dangerous neighbourhood). I asked my housemate Wilmer, and he said it was quite normal, and it will probably consist of group interviews. My other housemate was similar to me, skeptical of a job advertisement that doesn’t mention the job title or the company. But I decided to go ahead with it.

And the story of the mysterious pyramids will continue tomorrow. It is late at night and I feel ill with a cold. However, to keep you on this pyramid idea, I am going to include a wonderfully short documentary about Mayan Temples. Nice pyramids. Interesting pyramids. Enjoy!

About Nicholas Rogers

I am an English journalist/copywriter living in Tegucigalpa, Honduras, and I have been here since 2011. I originally came to work with Casa Alianza, which supports street kids and vulnerable youths. I then stayed on, after meeting Pamela Cruz Lozano, who calls me her adopted Catracho. I work freelance journalism and I have my own translation business. Why did I come here? For the challenge, to open my mind and get out of my comfort zone. I love literature and I've written a book with street kids. I write novels, short stories and poetry, all of which you will find on this blog, as well as a lot of information about Honduras. View all posts by Nicholas Rogers

Leave a Reply

