Lightning strikes

Hi all

As the summer turns into a hot rainy season, we are getting hot and cold fronts clashing on a frequent basis producing some quite spectacular loud, bright and soaking storms. The picture below was a week or so ago and produced a small flood in the apartment. When these storms strike, the rain literally falls in sideways with the wind, and it’s a drenching that we don’t really get in the UK, which is just grey, slow, damp, miserable and boring for 11 months of the year. Here, you literally could have more chance of being struck by lightning than winning the lottery: much, much, much more of a chance! It was literally above over heads, and when it thunders, it sounds as though someone is dropping something extremely heavy on the roof, like large rocks or trucks, or trucks with large rocks. I think the picture is of Lomo Linda, which is the next neighbourhood to mine, so the photographer could well have been taking this picture from the same very street without me knowing. Just to calm my mother’s nerves, I was not gripping anything metal during the storm. It has brought a few mosquitos, so if elecricity doesn’t knock me down, maybe dengue will!

62608_10151451280361185_1495535334_n (1)

 

About Nicholas Rogers

I am an English journalist/copywriter living in Tegucigalpa, Honduras, and I have been here since 2011. I originally came to work with Casa Alianza, which supports street kids and vulnerable youths. I then stayed on, after meeting Pamela Cruz Lozano, who calls me her adopted Catracho. I work freelance journalism and I have my own translation business. Why did I come here? For the challenge, to open my mind and get out of my comfort zone. I love literature and I've written a book with street kids. I write novels, short stories and poetry, all of which you will find on this blog, as well as a lot of information about Honduras. View all posts by Nicholas Rogers

Leave a Reply

