G Project – Casa Domingo

Hola todos

Last week, I assisted Casa Domingo enter a competition with the chance to win $25,000, along with a trip to fellow Central American country, Costa Rica. This $25,000 is very much needed, as the charity had it’s funding cut in 2012.

I’ve written about the organisation before. It supports youths coming off the street and reintegrate with society. They are mostly older youths, who have been let down by the poor social service infrastructure and indifference from society and the community or family they were in. Many have been abused, leading them to survive on the street, and sometimes turn to a life of crime. The aim is to make them functioning members of society, helping them with drug rehabitation, finding accommodation, giving them life-skills, education, work skills, micro businesses, family rehabitation, and a place they can turn to in an hour of need. There are very few or more or less no organisations that cater for this meta group, who properly rehabitate these guys. I have met them many times and they are great lads, like those in Casa Alianza, have been let down and they are making an effort to regather their lives. The organisation has supported over 250 youths, fantastic considering it hires no more than two or three staff.

What we really need is your vote. You might need to log on and register with the website, but it should take no more than a few seconds. You can find a link below. Please do it! It would be of great benefit to this organisation, which is a necesity in the reintegration of street youths. Once you log on to the website, just have a look at some of the comments of the people who have visited and what they say! It is a truely dynamic project. I’ve visited a few projects in Honduras now, and there is really nothing like it. Please vote!

http://www.thisisyourplanet.com/ideas/community/281?g=vote

Just to add, there were a couple of lads in the project, Carlos and Luis, who have tried there luck and head off to USA. I have contact with them and they are in Mexico, getting money together to make that final leap. It is well documented about the dangerous USA/Mexico border, and I have documented this a few times on my blog, especially with the film, Which Way Home and Tren de Muerte.

I knew Carlos better than Luis, to be honest. I knew Carlos from his time in Casa Alianza, so we clicked quite well when I saw he had joined Casa Domingo. He had problems with marujana and was working hard, with Casa Domingo, to kick the habit. He was doing very well, and I could see him progressing. We often used to chat about overcoming depression, setting objectives and having aims in life. He spoke quite quickly so I wasn’t always able to understand what he was saying, but he was always quirky, interesting and helpful, finding taxis and buses if ever I needed them. I remember he saw my tattoo, Nunca Te Rindas (Never Give Up), which inspired him to get the same tattoo on his hand, next time I saw him. This wasn’t my intention at all for him to do this, but just to feel inspired and not to give up on his goals. But I suppose we will forever be tattoo buddies.

His goal, with Luis, is to get to USA. So, if he’s reading this, “Carlos, nunca te rindas! Y cuidate, compe!”

About Nicholas Rogers

I am an English journalist/copywriter living in Tegucigalpa, Honduras, and I have been here since 2011. I originally came to work with Casa Alianza, which supports street kids and vulnerable youths. I then stayed on, after meeting Pamela Cruz Lozano, who calls me her adopted Catracho. I work freelance journalism and I have my own translation business. Why did I come here? For the challenge, to open my mind and get out of my comfort zone. I love literature and I've written a book with street kids. I write novels, short stories and poetry, all of which you will find on this blog, as well as a lot of information about Honduras. View all posts by Nicholas Rogers

Leave a Reply

