Teaching

Hola todos

I know I recently said that I will be including Honduran voices on my blog. Like I said in the previous post, I’m waiting on a few interviews, and they will be uploaded as soon as possible.

I recently had an interview at the Macris School in the El Sitio neighbourhood, on the way to Santa Lucia. It’s a Catholic bilingual school, fantastic location surrounded by lush green hills. Apparently in the morning there’s a refreshing mist that coats the place, giving the area a mysterious edge.

I put together a model class about how to write a poem about the sea, which I think went down well. I have to wait and see if I am successful or not. The kids were about 13-14 years old, some of them read there material at the end of the class. They have been reading Tolkien so they were impressed to know I was brought up close to where Tolkien grew up. To give them ideas for their poem, I sang Octopus’ Garden, the Beatles song, which you can hear, see or sing along to below, and maybe crack some window panes with your awful voices. It’s a song my mother used to sing to me when I was small, and it’s also one that Noel Gallagher often sings a few lines to at the end of the song Whatever, when he sings it live.

Before that though, for any teachers reading this, especially those who teach English as a second language, I would like to introduce to Emma Lay’s blog, Keep It Real ELT. She is a fellow Brummie, who has been teaching a for a few years now and she writes a blog about different methods and styles of teaching, which you might find useful. She helped on my poetry night to raise money to come to Honduras three years ago or so. Take a look here: http://keepitrealemma.wordpress.com/about-this-blog/

Now here’s one for the karaoke freaks. Give it some, Ringo!

About Nicholas Rogers

I am an English journalist/copywriter living in Tegucigalpa, Honduras, and I have been here since 2011. I originally came to work with Casa Alianza, which supports street kids and vulnerable youths. I then stayed on, after meeting Pamela Cruz Lozano, who calls me her adopted Catracho. I work freelance journalism and I have my own translation business. Why did I come here? For the challenge, to open my mind and get out of my comfort zone. I love literature and I've written a book with street kids. I write novels, short stories and poetry, all of which you will find on this blog, as well as a lot of information about Honduras. View all posts by Nicholas Rogers

6 responses to “Teaching

  • Emma Lay

    Ooo thanks for the plug!🙂

  • a former student

    tolkien and noel gallagher… somehow it reminds me of the talks we had at the academy haha I’ll keep digging your blog (y) by the way, I’d like to add you on facebook

  • Anonymous

    Mr. Nicholas, we were very sad to learn today that you were no longer our English teacher. Although you were just with us for a couple weeks, I can say I learned quite a lot of interesting things. I shall certainly not forget that a period is called a full stop🙂. I understand that being at Macris was not your fate, so I encourage you to pursue your dreams. I hope one day you may look back at your life and say you lived just the way you wanted to. I will certainly miss you at school. Have a great future Mr.!

    • Nicholas Rogers

      Thank you for your kind words, young Ms. Silvana. That’s very nice of you. Teaching young people is not easy (especially 10B!!), but I did enjoy teaching 10A, even if it was for just a short time. You personally were a pleasure to teach, and I think you taught me a few things about teaching! I was very impressed with your leadership skills and you’re exceptionally bright. You’re a great student and destined a future full of “bonanza”. Your mother also left a few nice words and was very kind to me when I was “stressing out”. I guess a kind streak runs through the Montañola gene. I guess this is where I finish a full-stop, but I do want to wish you all the best this academic year, and the many that roll on there after. So, take care, “abrazos” (“no SPANISH!!”) Mr Nick x Nicholas was always too long!

Leave a Reply

