Weddings

Hola todos

I hope you’re all well. Sorry there have been no updates in a while. Since being offered the job at Macris, I have gone in to meet the students, get a feeling for the school and see how things are run. I can’t wait to get started. I have also had to translate all my documents and certificates for immigration purposes: one of the most evil, unnecessary and boring tasks I have possibly ever done, apart from the dull job I did at the Wesleyan. That was horrific. And at Birmingham City University. Awful, awful jobs on the road to success.

Now, I know that it’s not Valentines Day, but there seems to be romance in the air as there has been a few of my friends tying the knot of late, as well as my own baby sister (I don’t know if she’ll feel patronised by saying that or extremely happy, but she is my fantastic younger sister). It’s all very life changing and final in the most beautiful of ways: quite emotional seeing friends moving on with their lives, starting families and finding happiness. It might seem naff and cheesy to some by saying that, but it’s a genuine and free emotion of joy. I’m dead pleased for them all. Here are some other weddings that have been taking, and soon to be taking place.

Vanesa & Eric

I have been to my second Honduran wedding, an evangelical affair, of Vanesa and Eric. Vanesa is a colleague of Pamela. I was extra hungry, meaning I had extra portions of food. And the chocolate M&Ms which should have gone to children, well….didn’t. They went to me. And I’m proud. So there. In true Honduran tradition, where the bride has to throw a bouquet for the single ladies, there was also a garter for the single lads, which I caught. So male Catracho singletons have to wait a little longer while us “conquistas” get first pickings over the ladies! Anyway, here’s a picture of us all.

10567_645338265481161_683937741_n

Matthew & Marsha

Another wedding I have failed to mention which has passed is my good friend Matthew Armitage, commonly known as Dutch Matt (not because he’s a stingy git, because he’s not, but because he is actually from Holland!), who married Marsha. They are expecting a baby any day now. Matt and myself shared a house in Preston for two years, which I thoroughly enjoyed. I struggled through university together, and eventually came out with a 2:1, with a bit of help with essay planning for a certain International Journalism assignment about Italy from my old man! I wish them the very best together. They are a lovely couple, are perfect for each other and I can’t wait to see them when I am next in Holland. Dead dirtyyyy! (This is a private joke, but that makes dead dirtyyyy seem so much worse by saying so). I wished I was there on the day. So sorry I was not. Take care the two of you x

972125_10201312033463555_571860571_n

Jorge & Sandra

I also want to wish the best to my other friends from UCLAN, Spanish George (Jorge) and Valenciana Sandra (known simply as Sandra, but I enjoy adding their nationalities for the sake of doing it. They have been together for pretty much a decade, so in true “manana manana” spirit, the paella lovers and makers are finally tying the knotin a couple of days, which again is unfortunate that I cannot be there, but I very much wish I could. I will be there in spirit and I will be speaking Spanish from “el pais patria” to celebrate the great day, rather than the Central American sort I’ve been picking up on here, which I will include something on shortly. This lovely couple, in some ways, inspired me to be where I am today. They helped teach me the basics (and in Jorge’s case, all the rude stuff) in Spanish, put a little pressure on my and motivated me to learn the great romantic tongue, spoken by I don’t know how many million people. If it weren’t for them, I daresay I might not be in Honduras today, which might be a plus or a minus for many Hondurans. Asi chicos, os quiero mucho, lo siento que no voy a estar alli, pero te mando muchos abrazos, mucha suerte y deseo muchas felices x

82_6601495514_1863_n

Continuing on from the Honduran Spanish thing, I have come across a dictionary and phrase book on Kindle, from Honduran Spanish to English, which is one of the best books ever, especially as trying to decipher what the f–k some people are going on about here. Sometimes it feels that some people just refuse to pronounce words properly, and while Pamela makes jokes about my English pronunciation of some Spanish words which contain double r, at least I do try to pronounce the word in full, in stead of an incomprehensable shortened version, that even give some Spanish people I know problems. I am still used to Spanish from Spain, especially living with Nacho and having lived in Madrid and Seville, which makes it refreshing to hear words like “vale”, “de puta madre” and “z pronounced like a z and not a c”. Anyway, to my English speaking friends here, I recommend you get this book on your Kindle (if you don’t have one, just download the kindle programme to your computer). It unknots some of the knots in this confusingly knotted knot of Spanish.

41nfNiVhJ8L__BO2,204,203,200_PIsitb-sticker-arrow-click,TopRight,35,-76_AA278_PIkin4,BottomRight,-66,22_AA300_SH20_OU02_

There is a song that I would like to dedicate to Dutch Matt, a song that we used to motivate us while doing last minute assignments in the UCLAN Library. Headlines from History, Approaches to Journalism and Journalism Law come to mind. It is a cheesy song, but then again, we are cheesy people, so who cares. It’s All Night Long, by Lionel Richie. I suppose I could dedicate to the night of the wedding for the newly married couples, but that is a bit, well, strange and grotesque to say. But f–k it, I’m gonna do it anyway!

About Nicholas Rogers

I am an English journalist/copywriter living in Tegucigalpa, Honduras, and I have been here since 2011. I originally came to work with Casa Alianza, which supports street kids and vulnerable youths. I then stayed on, after meeting Pamela Cruz Lozano, who calls me her adopted Catracho. I work freelance journalism and I have my own translation business. Why did I come here? For the challenge, to open my mind and get out of my comfort zone. I love literature and I've written a book with street kids. I write novels, short stories and poetry, all of which you will find on this blog, as well as a lot of information about Honduras. View all posts by Nicholas Rogers

Leave a Reply

