Huey/Casa Alianza part two

Hi all,

Yes, Huey passed away. A couple of days ago. 15, like I said in the last update, is a great age for a cat. Unfortunately he had turned deaf and blind, bumping into things and falling over. My dad found him struggling three quarters of the way down Cole Bank Road, not far from the house, but too far for a blind and deaf cat. Mum and dad took him to the vet to see what the best thing was to do. Obviously, a cat without sight or hearing is not a nice life, not for any animal. It didn’t feel right to make him suffer, especially after giving us all so much joy in the last 15 years. So we had him put to sleep.

Many years ago, I wrote a poem about him. I wish I could remember it. Next time I am back home, I am going to search for it. Just two stanzas and eight lines, it pains me that I can’t remember it, so instead I’m going to copy the tribute I gave him on Facebook to finish off this obituary. Hopefully it will sum up how we feel about him as a family. He truly was a remarkable cat.

RIP Huey Rogers. You’ve been a great buddy for the last 15 years. Whenever I’ve had a problem, your response has always been, “Man, I don’t care. I just want to sleep on your bed and eat food, especially biscuits.” Nonetheless, I always appreciated your honesty. You warmed our hearts and our laps during cold winter months, and you turned into a wonderful grumpy old man in your latter years, especially in your tolerance to children (he would hiss at them, maybe scratch them and then run off). You were also shamelessly lazy, especially when another cat entered the house and you pretty much let him piss on your territory, but if us humans ruined your peace, you would give us an evil stare. You also had no time for fresh chicken or tuna, but you preferred a pouch full of biscuits. I loved that you used to rob the neighbour’s cat’s food then come purring around us for more, that sometimes you refused to come through the cat flap if one of your human slaves was around to open the human door for you, and that every morning, so you weren’t stuck in the kitchen, you would sneak around the side of the house and dive through the front door when nobody was looking so you could go and sleep on a human bed. You were a bright little thing, found on wasteland in the Black Country, but I hope you can look back and say, “I enjoyed life with the Rogers Family in Hall Green.” I love you loads little man, and you will be very sadly missed by the Rogers crew and our neighbour Marian. Equally, we are pleased you’re no longer suffering and are now in Cat Heaven x

542007_10151835990895515_431740596_n

I’m going to include this song by Coldplay, Hurts like Heaven. Just on the basis the song makes me smile, just like Huey does whenever I think of him, and that’s how he will live in my memory. Thank you little buddy.

About Nicholas Rogers

I am an English journalist/copywriter living in Tegucigalpa, Honduras, and I have been here since 2011. I originally came to work with Casa Alianza, which supports street kids and vulnerable youths. I then stayed on, after meeting Pamela Cruz Lozano, who calls me her adopted Catracho. I work freelance journalism and I have my own translation business. Why did I come here? For the challenge, to open my mind and get out of my comfort zone. I love literature and I've written a book with street kids. I write novels, short stories and poetry, all of which you will find on this blog, as well as a lot of information about Honduras. View all posts by Nicholas Rogers

Leave a Reply

