Beraca Café

Hi all,

Wherever I am in the world, I also seek a place, a haven, whatever you want to call it, which I can call my own, that I don’t share with anyone and I can have a quiet moment to myself. It doesn’t always have to be that quiet, but a place of inspiration, where I can read, write and watch the world go by.

I had Parque Retiro or Estación Atocha in Madrid. I had a quiet little courtyard very close to the heart of city, while living in Seville, and then the whole Camona, just 30 minutes away from Seville, if I really wanted to escape the tourism and strange Seville snobbery towards outsiders. In Preston I had the Japanese Garden in Preston Park, or the saloon bar near the train station. In Birmingham I know of half a dozen places I can escape, many of them are also bars.

Tegucigalpa, being the chaotic metropolis that it is, you would think it can be a little tricky to get a moment’s peace. There are thousands of Espero Americanos, which frankly bore me to bits. However, there are a few independent cafes and restaurants which are quite easy to lose yourself in, be anonymous and feel safe.

In the next few updates, I will include a few charming finds, away from capitalism and characterless malls (the only shop I can actually enjoy in Mall Multiplaza is Metromedia).

First I am going to write about is Beraca Café. A few months ago, I came here to catch up with Danny Padgett, who I lived with briefly in Linaca (the charismatic grandmother of Tatumbla’s grandson). We sometimes meet for light conversation, with lovely soft topics such as racism and abortion, which brings eyes and hears in our direction. Due to it’s proxmity to Las Colinas where I live (the cafe is towards the back of Centro Comercial Centro America, where the cinema used to be, on Blvd Centro America), it’s a lovely place to sit in a rustic and homely decorated place, with settees, nicely laid furniture, which is open and airy. It’s situated in the lobby of the old cinema and one of the screens is now a church. They have nice coffee, though the coffee is nice in most places in Honduras (not from the canisters in conferences and meetings though, yuk) though the cakes, pastries and side orders sell it for me, along with the quiet and gentle air of the place.

Whenever I go, it is empty and quiet, which is one of the reasons I like it. However, because it is so tucked away, I don’t think it gives itself justice and it’s quite hard for it to promote itself properly. So, risking the fact that I might lose my peace and quiet nex time I go, I have decided to blog it and advertise it, having spoken to the boss briefly today (unfortunately I didn’t catch her name), who was obviously looking to sell her product. As I said, I’m already sold.

111d

If you live in Tegucigalpa or are stopping by (there is a Hedman Alas coach station very close by, with clear signals to the cafe, if you’re coming from San Pedro or else where in Honduras), stop by and have a coffee and brownie. Cheap prices for nice food, good atmosphere and nice coffee (they also play the Honduras matches on the great white walls, if you’re around in June/July 2014). To sit back, read a book and enjoy calmness while the city bounces around you (as well as escape the tram contruction that’s murdering the roads at the minute), this is the place for you.

111e

Now, sit back and listen to a relaxing tune from Goldfrapp.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AwA4w1xiyKo

About Nicholas Rogers

I am an English journalist/copywriter living in Tegucigalpa, Honduras, and I have been here since 2011. I originally came to work with Casa Alianza, which supports street kids and vulnerable youths. I then stayed on, after meeting Pamela Cruz Lozano, who calls me her adopted Catracho. I work freelance journalism and I have my own translation business. Why did I come here? For the challenge, to open my mind and get out of my comfort zone. I love literature and I've written a book with street kids. I write novels, short stories and poetry, all of which you will find on this blog, as well as a lot of information about Honduras. View all posts by Nicholas Rogers

5 responses to “Beraca Café

Leave a Reply

