La Teteria

Dear all,

As I did on Wednesday for the cafe, today I am presenting a nice eatery which I have found in the sprawling mass of Tegucigalpa, called, La Teteria, which translates as The Tearoom. I know what many of you must be thinking, “An Englishman on about his bloody tea again.” While “yes”, I do like tea, I wouldn’t say it’s my favourite tipple (it would have to contain alcohol to be on my faves list!). There are already a couple of nice places to get nice tea in Honduras, however, they are a little far off if I just want a quickie (make as many innuendos as you want, but you can have a quickie with a tea); the tea-room next to the cathedral in Santa Lucia and a nice little place in Valle de Angeles, other than resorting to the teabag in cup back at the apartment, which is also nice. If anyone should know of any other places, let me know.

About a month ago, my good friend and housemate Nacho told me about a place that makes amazing crepes. I automatically thought of La Creperie, or something along those lines, so I said that I would try it out. He then pretty much said, “No, I MUST go there.” He added that the crepes were the most delicious he had tried, made by a fellow Spaniard, and the tea then put him on a cloud somewhere up there with number nine, which meant it must be nice as this is a lad who isn’t partial to tea.

A couple of days later, Pamela had also heard about it, so we went with Jano to test ride. Pamela claims that tea is only for sick people (she also claims that tomato seeds are bad for you (seriously, whenever I make food for her, she makes me dissect every single poor tomato pip before she puts the food anywhere near her mouth), but I imagine dieticians reading this might contest her diet advice), but like stated above, being English, tea is part of an English man’s staple diet, cleaning the system of roast dinners, fish and chips, deep-fried Mars Bars, kebabs, curry, Pukka pies, anything with custard and Cadburys chocolate. As far as I know, La Teteria also has a hostal, but I’m not too sure of that. There is a nice fountain in the middle of the room, chilled music and fine little tables that leave you feeling at ease with the world. We were met at the door by Ivan, who I automatically recognised was Spanish due to the strong Andalucian lilt in his accent. We told the man from Cadiz that we had heard about the crepes and he advised us straight away, as he was the man who made the crepes, the crepe-maker, chef de le crepe, or whatever you want to call it (I am pretty sure there is a word in French that means “the man that makes the crepes”). Pamela and I ordered one each that were similar with fruits, cream and cheese, but I didn’t know what I was letting myself in for. I also ordered a red peppercorn tea, which I’ve had before and it never fails. The tea came first with it’s delicate utensils, which made it feel proper and sophisticated. Using proper herbs as well made it all the more pure, as it should do, and sent me even more into my own world. While waiting for the crepes, the manager (or owner, I’m not sure) Luis turned up and sat with us, as he’s a friend of Pamela and Jano, and I would now like to say myself. We chatted about dishes that he was looking to try out, which had clashes in flavours. I suggested one which were pears (or apple) with blue cheese or brie and caramelised onions, which I’ve tried back home numerous times and enjoyed.

111i

Anyway, the crepes came. I had strawberries, and Pamela had maracuna (I’ve forgotten the name of it to be honest, let alone how to spell it). With whipped cream and a long line of requeson cheese, I dug a fork into the crepe and a smile appeared on my face that spelt out “complete satisfaction”. Yes, the boy was happy, as was Pamela. The clashes between the saltiness of the cheese, the fluffiness of the cream, the delicacy of the doughy crepe, then the pinching sweetness of the fruity sauce and coolish texture of the strawberry, leaves explosions of delight in your happily confused mouth. Yes, they were new fangled, but not covered sickly like some joints. Pure lush. And to wind up the French, they were better than any crepe I’ve ever eaten in France. So take that, France!

111h

After, Ivan, as well as Chef de le Crepe which-is-better-than-any-Frenchman-could-do, he is also an artist, showed us his drawings, which have taken a lot of hard-work and patience, but as many artists will say, hard-work and patience doesn’t come into it when you enjoy it. From what I know, there were plans to put up some of his artwork on an empty wall of the tearoom. Well worth going to see as well. He is also a paella expert, as the next evening, Nacho and I with a few friends returned to have the famous Valencian dish, equally delicious.

One of the best things about this lovely little place are the prices. I imagine they could put the prices up double and people would still be more than satisfied. So Hondurans, if you are looking for a nice cheap place to eat, f–k the foodcourts in malls and the copious amounts of non-tax-paying junk food restaurants. Go with quality. La Teteria is a treat. The address is:

Col.Tepeyac,
una cuadra arriba de ”El novillo alegre” entrada a mano derecha, Casa #1167,
Tegucigalpa

Here too is a link to La Teteria Facebook page. https://www.facebook.com/pages/La-Teteria/1448927918664808?fref=ts

About Nicholas Rogers

I am an English journalist/copywriter living in Tegucigalpa, Honduras, and I have been here since 2011. I originally came to work with Casa Alianza, which supports street kids and vulnerable youths. I then stayed on, after meeting Pamela Cruz Lozano, who calls me her adopted Catracho. I work freelance journalism and I have my own translation business. Why did I come here? For the challenge, to open my mind and get out of my comfort zone. I love literature and I've written a book with street kids. I write novels, short stories and poetry, all of which you will find on this blog, as well as a lot of information about Honduras. View all posts by Nicholas Rogers

2 responses to “La Teteria

  • Mario

    La Teteria is one of th best places in Tegucigalpa where you will find not just amazing crepes, but amazing owners, the ambience they present is one of a kind, just for great thinkers and people who love life will enjoy their companionship, it is amazing!

  • Octi

    I’ve known about this place for a couple of weeks and its a couple of streets away from my house. As a “capitalino” (from the capital city) its nice to have a place where I can say “i wanna kick it back and have a cup of java” and not have to go to a big franchise coffee place. The air at La Teteria is of a “home away from home” kind of place, where i can have a cold beer or tea if i like. And this guy (the author of this blog) is NOT kidding about the crepes. I had a nice mushroom and veggie crepe taht had so much flavor in it that i thought it was some kind of jam inside. DELICIOUS, you get your penny’s worth at La teteria!…
    on another note, there IS an Inn right next to the tea place, its called El Cafetal Inn that has a VERY cozy feel and very good prices if you are planning on making a short or even extended visit to Tegus. I give faith of the very nice rooms and good prices because my in-laws were in town for a wedding and made arrangements with the Inn. the loved the place! Im sure you can find the hotel’s facebook page as well as La Teteria.

Leave a Reply

