TV STAR (and soon to be radio star!)

Dear all,

For all those who unfortunately missed it, such as myself, or want to see it again, probably Pamela, and all my friends and family back home or in other countries, here is my moment of great fame on Simplemente Dorys. Sorry to all those who can’t understand Spanish. Just sit with someone who does so they can talk you through it.

I’ll be quite honest, I’m too embarrassed to see it myself. Pamela’s grandmother, who demands that I call her Mama Mina, grilled about why I didn’t say that my favourite food in Honduras wasn’t her own. When you’re eyes are caught in the lights and you’re on the spot, it’s a bit difficult to get everything out your mouth that is lodged in your head all at once. So here I say it, Mama Mina is the best chef in Honduras. Or even better, ever.

Funnily enough, I’ll be having another moment of fame on Thursday between 5-7pm on the “Black ‘n’ Soul” show on Radio Energy talking about ICYE. For those back home, I’ll try and get a copy to put on my blog.

To change the subject a little bit, this section is for wannabe writers mainly, but it maybe of interest to many more. I’ve been following the blog of Jeff Goins, a writer who started off blogging, it was getting 200,000 hits daily, he has written a novel and now he advises new writers on branding and how to remain motivated about writing. It’s well worth a visit.

http://goinswriter.com/new-author/

Another website I would like to introduce you to is Coursera, which offers free online courses from all over the world about a mass of different subjects, from songwriting to sciences, literature to engineering, many which are official qualifications from universities. My friend Hazel Mealy told me about it a year or ago but I completely forgot it. Just when I was going throughI am doing an Introduction to Psychology and an Introduction to Philosophy, which I’m enjoying. I know that there are other online sites that offer similar courses. Feed the mind. It’s healthy.

https://www.coursera.org/

About Nicholas Rogers

I am an English journalist/copywriter living in Tegucigalpa, Honduras, and I have been here since 2011. I originally came to work with Casa Alianza, which supports street kids and vulnerable youths. I then stayed on, after meeting Pamela Cruz Lozano, who calls me her adopted Catracho. I work freelance journalism and I have my own translation business. Why did I come here? For the challenge, to open my mind and get out of my comfort zone. I love literature and I've written a book with street kids. I write novels, short stories and poetry, all of which you will find on this blog, as well as a lot of information about Honduras. View all posts by Nicholas Rogers

Leave a Reply

