Radio Star

Dear all,

On Thursday, my tiny slice of fame in Honduras continued. I was on ‘Nergy FM, Black ‘n’ Soul, talking about ICYE, Casa Alianza and life in Honduras, along with Norma and Lourdes (staff at ICYE) and Julia (a current volunteer from Austria), with the DJ, Carlos, who went to Germany with ICYE a few years ago. There’s a lovely comradeship at ICYE, between new and old volunteers, and Carlos was keen to promote ICYE, talk about volunteering and get volunteers in Honduras on his programme. It was good fun. There were two interviewers, one of which was Carlos, although the other was in a different room. It was quite amusing, as I couldn’t understand everything the other interviewer was saying and I couldn’t lip-read him, to try and comprehend what was being asked. Also, his questions were quite long and substantial. Sometimes I had to guess the question, so I don’t know if my answer was coherent to the question. Nonetheless, it was brilliant fun.

https://www.facebook.com/pages/N-ergy-FM/176448442559069?directed_target_id=0

1a

Before that, I was at the ICYE office being videoed as promotion for ICYE. It was also fun, talking about and remembering experiences. The recording was interrupted a couple of times due to sirens and beeping horns, thanks to Tegucigalpa’s horrendous traffic at the moment. When the video has been edited accordingly and is online, I will post it on the blog. We then had a rush to get there. It shouldn’t been a rush, but Tegucigalpa’s traffic made sure that it was.

About Nicholas Rogers

I am an English journalist/copywriter living in Tegucigalpa, Honduras, and I have been here since 2011. I originally came to work with Casa Alianza, which supports street kids and vulnerable youths. I then stayed on, after meeting Pamela Cruz Lozano, who calls me her adopted Catracho. I work freelance journalism and I have my own translation business. Why did I come here? For the challenge, to open my mind and get out of my comfort zone. I love literature and I've written a book with street kids. I write novels, short stories and poetry, all of which you will find on this blog, as well as a lot of information about Honduras. View all posts by Nicholas Rogers

2 responses to “Radio Star

  • Nora Zelaya

    Nice article, only it’s Nora*, not Norma😛
    That’s right, in ICYE we’re like a big family and we get to know the other returnees from previous years thanks to all the activities we organize.
    Thank you for your participation and help!

Leave a Reply

