Casa Alianza update

Dear all,

Due to time contraints, I find it hard to stay in contact with Casa Alianza let alone go. However, I heard from my friend Carolina Hernandez who works in the computer lab that there have been changes, especially since I was volunteering. They now take in much younger kids, which is great to see. I used to think it was entirely teenagers.
I also bumped into a boy who was there three years ago when I was volunteering called Juan Carlos, who I’ve mentioned before when he’s been involved with dance events. He claimed to be the best English student in all of Casa Alianza when he first met me, and I’m proud to say his English has come on a long way and he could keep a conservation going in English for four laps around Villa Olímpica, the sports centre where I saw him with a church group. Unfortunately he had some sad news that his older sister had a tumour and he was unsure of her chances of survival, but JuanCar, as he is commonly known, is a strong kid, or rather young man. Casa Alianza has given him a steady basis to launch off into adulthood. I’m dead proud of him.

From what I understand, Casa Alianza Nicaragua is preparing for the Street Child World Cup  in South Africa. From what I remember of their Honduran counterparts, they had an extremely strong team that could do very well. Watch this space.

Also, Suzanne Vega, who recently did a tour of the Uk, has written the foreword of my book. Let’s see what the next step is. Again, watch this space. Here is the most well known song from Ms. Vega. Tom’s Diner.  http:// http://m.youtube.com/watch?v=-26hsZqwveA

About Nicholas Rogers

I am an English journalist/copywriter living in Tegucigalpa, Honduras, and I have been here since 2011. I originally came to work with Casa Alianza, which supports street kids and vulnerable youths. I then stayed on, after meeting Pamela Cruz Lozano, who calls me her adopted Catracho. I work freelance journalism and I have my own translation business. Why did I come here? For the challenge, to open my mind and get out of my comfort zone. I love literature and I've written a book with street kids. I write novels, short stories and poetry, all of which you will find on this blog, as well as a lot of information about Honduras. View all posts by Nicholas Rogers

2 responses to “Casa Alianza update

  • Fred Shortland

    Hi Nick, Hope you are keeping well ? Couple of updates you. Only Casa Alianza Nicaragua is participating in the Street Child World Cup and they are sending a girls and boys team as the event are including girls tournament for the first time. All the Casa’s were invited but we selected Nicaragua as they completed all the pre requisites on time and had first hand experience of the initial tournament in South Africa. We were also limited to one country and Nica won hands down. CAUK is managing CA participation and providing the funding… will keep you posted. Suzanne Vega Forward is done, I just have to insert a date and I will forward it later today. Correction, the SV song you mentioned is Tom’s Diner not kitchen. Most well know song is “Luka ” about child abuse ..hence the connection to child rights and Casa. I have been asked to write a blog for Casa UK on SV connection and history so I will copy you in when done. SV European Tour and album release has been great in every respect so her profile is v high right now which is good for CA / book Regarding next steps …we should have a catch up by Skype to reconnect . With thanks and best regards Fred S Date: Sun, 23 Feb 2014 04:31:19 +0000 To: fredscasa@hotmail.co.uk

    • Nicholas Rogers

      I’ve made the edits where appropriate. I must admit that I wrote it in a hurry so I was a little careless and assuming con a couple of things. Although I have always associated Suzanne Vega with Tom’s Diner. I will include the song Luka in the update!

Leave a Reply

