Valentine poem for my girlfriend

Dear all,

It was a week ago. I don’t care. We should try and be romantic every day. So, I am going to include the poem that I wrote for my beautiful girlfriend Pamela. I wrote it, printed it on special paper and put it in a frame, to which Pamela asked what picture could she replace it with. Romance murderer. To be honest, my girlfriend has more of the slightly stinging bantering British sense of humour than myself, which is kind of funny because I prided myself on that. Without further ado, read below.

Hand-in-Hand

Deep words of doting affection,
Cut right through me in an adoring dissection,
Making me strengthen and stand to attention,
Bringing smiles to our faces in our sunshine reflection.

Awaiting with anguish ’til your alleviating lips meet mine,
Holding the image of you in my wallet as though it’s a shrine,
Sensing your soothing strokes easing my tense spine,
Drunk on love like the fiercest of red wines.

You’re in my dreams and in the books I read and the songs I hear,
You stamp on my insecurities and iron the creases of my fears,
You wipe down the windscreen and we see the road is clear,
Hand in hand as wedding bells and children draw near.

image

About Nicholas Rogers

I am an English journalist/copywriter living in Tegucigalpa, Honduras, and I have been here since 2011. I originally came to work with Casa Alianza, which supports street kids and vulnerable youths. I then stayed on, after meeting Pamela Cruz Lozano, who calls me her adopted Catracho. I work freelance journalism and I have my own translation business. Why did I come here? For the challenge, to open my mind and get out of my comfort zone. I love literature and I've written a book with street kids. I write novels, short stories and poetry, all of which you will find on this blog, as well as a lot of information about Honduras. View all posts by Nicholas Rogers

Leave a Reply

