Iglesia de los Dolores

Dear all,

I didn’t have a religious upbringing. My folks pretty much let us choose. We had to go to church for Scouts and Cubs and so on, but that was only once a month and I was too young and immature to really understand or care what was going on, normal for the culture and the age.

I live in a very religious country, which is predominantly Roman Catholic, a faith that in my own country, as well as many other developed countries, has come under great criticism and scrutiny in the press due to scandals regarding the covering up of child abuse and the beliefs that clash with modern culture, often criticised for its outdated stance on homosexuality and contraception. I’ve always had an interest in the faith, although that’s been more down to being a Celtic fan, but I’ve also liked the ambience of the churches and cathedrals. I’ve lived in ignorance to the bible and I still don’t really know what rosary beads are nor do I know any prayers or have any idea what a Hail Mary is.

Having a Roman Catholic girlfriend, I suppose my interest has deepened. Her mum is quite intrigued about faith in the UK and asks all sorts of questions that often leaves me red-faced and makes Pam and her brother and sister giggle at my discomfort. For her family, I think it’s quite important that I am Catholic, or at least follow the traditions, to marry her. But my interest is more than just wanting to fulfil wishes. It’s wanting to know what it means to be Catholic and understanding the faith. I would like to open this up to people who know of any literature about converting to Catholicism. Leave a comment. I’d much appreciate it.

The centre of Tegucigalpa has a few churches. The cathedral sits at Central Park, which is nice to sit down in and escape with your own thoughts away from the hustle and bustle of the centre. I know I have mentioned the other church before in updates with street kids and so forth. It’s off the main pedestrianised street towards a slightly poorer part of the centre. It is known as Iglesia de los Dolores, the ‘church of pains’ in English (although it sounds like a Cypress Hill tune). It is decorated with pieces of colourful art and seems a bit more bohemian. I especially like the face of the sun with a smile up towards the bells and the black and white tiles on the floor. If I’m right, it was the poor man’s church or the slave’s church when Tegucigalpa was founded, I can’t remember which. I suppose it still might be regarded as the poor man’s church by judging the people (yes, I know not to judge people like that!) who attend the services. I think I have included pictures before that date back a couple of years. The square has been cleaned up a little since, but you do feel that the centre could be spruced up a lot more in general.

The reason for this update is because Pamela sent me a picture of what it used to look like a few decades ago, wrapped up in vintage film. You might have to Google search to see what it looks like today. I love the art deco designs of the cars lined up along the street. It goes to show that Tegucigalpa has prospered and can still prosper. Maybe this photo should be kept, just as a reminder o
f how things could be.

image

About Nicholas Rogers

I am an English journalist/copywriter living in Tegucigalpa, Honduras, and I have been here since 2011. I originally came to work with Casa Alianza, which supports street kids and vulnerable youths. I then stayed on, after meeting Pamela Cruz Lozano, who calls me her adopted Catracho. I work freelance journalism and I have my own translation business. Why did I come here? For the challenge, to open my mind and get out of my comfort zone. I love literature and I've written a book with street kids. I write novels, short stories and poetry, all of which you will find on this blog, as well as a lot of information about Honduras. View all posts by Nicholas Rogers

Leave a Reply

