Pamela Cruz Lozano

Dear all,

I have unfortunately been off work today with a nasty little bug which has left me hovering over the toilet seat with an upset stomach and noxious headache all last night and today. I should name the establishment which I think is culpable, but it’s only a small business and the owners are friendly enough that I don’t want to cause any bad business for them. Although I should really ask myself why I still eat there, especially when their chicken smells like sardines when they cook it on the barbecue (and sardines aren’t stated on the menu, if you’re wondering).

While sitting at home twiddling my thumbs, usually I would be feeling sorry for myself in this type of scenario, but I haven’t been. In the last couple of weeks, I have been suffering from irregular sleeping patterns and insomnia. Work has been extra busy and I am still settling into a new job, which is proven as one of the biggest factors for stress. People who know me best know I’m not the easiest person to be around when I’m tired and anxious, and I tend to take it out on those closest to me, with lots of whining and complaining. Unfortunately, this leaves Pamela feeling like my complaining punchbag as she has to bear the brunt of it, which I realise must weigh her down. I am what they call here, “un burro”, which kind of means “very irritating”.

Apart from the other day with the poem, I also noted that I can be a little cheeky about Pamela on my blog, making her appear a bit cynical and black humoured (which she can be). So, in this update, I would like to tell the world how much of a brilliant girlfriend she is, how she looks after me through thick and thin, she answers my every call and helps me in any way that she can, and she’s always entertaining and funny to be around, cheering me up no end, especially when I feel homesick or strained. I know some male readers will probably be calling me ‘pussy’ and some women readers probably want to barf, but I wear my heart on my sleeve and I am proud to say that I love her so much, she is an absolute princess, I have never met anyone like her and I feel like the luckiest man in the world. She told me the other day that she had a little thing for Bruno Mars, so I thought I would include a song that I know puts a smile on her face; Locked Out of Heaven.

Despite feeling ill, I have written several limericks about her, which I hope she likes, as well as all of you readers.

A Limerick for Pamela

My girlfriend’s name is Pamela,
Whose boyfriend is a handsome fella,
She is a princess,
But I have to confess,
That she’ll be fighting for this status with Ella*.

She has beautiful big brown eyes,
She says mine are as blue as the skies,
Then she gives me a bite,
That gives me a great fright,
Then runs off laughing without saying her goodbyes!

She’s my rock, mi musa, my supreme,
The perfect picture in my dreams,
And when she smiles,
It’s with warmth and style,
And as sweet as a sugared custard cream.

She’s going to be my wife,
We’ll be travelling from Cuba to Egypt to Fife,
We’ll have a boy and a girl,
Blue eyes and blond curls,
Living in happiness, the walk of life.

*Ella is my niece

IMG_20131207_162604[1]

About Nicholas Rogers

I am an English journalist/copywriter living in Tegucigalpa, Honduras, and I have been here since 2011. I originally came to work with Casa Alianza, which supports street kids and vulnerable youths. I then stayed on, after meeting Pamela Cruz Lozano, who calls me her adopted Catracho. I work freelance journalism and I have my own translation business. Why did I come here? For the challenge, to open my mind and get out of my comfort zone. I love literature and I've written a book with street kids. I write novels, short stories and poetry, all of which you will find on this blog, as well as a lot of information about Honduras. View all posts by Nicholas Rogers

2 responses to “Pamela Cruz Lozano

  • Ms. Cinthya

    So that’s why the library was closed today… I was looking for Ana and don Luis told me “la biblioteca está cerrada, Miss.”
    I’m sorry to read you’re sick. Hope you get well soon! I must say I enjoy the way you write, it’s like talking to you!! I’ll be reading more posts soon.
    PS. Caught my attention an article that says “Pespire”. I’ve always thought that place should have been called PeRspire, don’t you think?

    • Nicholas Rogers

      Thank you for your kind comments. I’ve not been well for the last 24 hours. I should be back tomorrow. I like the Perspire comment. Perspiration or sweat might be a more suitable name for the place.

Leave a Reply

