Meal

Dear all,

This is another poem that I wrote yesterday en route to Santa Lucia.

Meal

Love is more interesting when it’s pickled,
Laced and spiced with affection,
Fiery herbs and salacious juices,
Stirred and simmered to perfection.

Soak the meats clean of any impurities,
Then tenderise it and palm it with love,
Leave it in a marinade and a suspense of heat,
Making your lover’s palate feel on clouds above.

Paint the plate with greens, reds and browns,
Slice the vegetables so they’re succulent in the mouth,
Make sure the compliments are cared for duly,
And choose a dark red wine from hemispheres in the south.

A salad should contain oily and peachy tomatoes,
Chopped onion and mozzarella cheese are a must,
Mix with cute lettuce leaves, peppers and Spanish olives,
Then spike it with oil and balsamic vinegar for lust.*
(NOTE: Ensure the croutons have a delicate crust!)

The cutlery should be polished and placed correctly,
And no smooth napkin would make a polite person seethe,
Low lights, dancing candle, graceful music and a specious scent,
And dress each plate with a seductive basil leaf.

A suggestive dessert always satisfies a sweet tooth,
Especially laced in a devilish spirit,
A hint of cinnamon in soft crumble tends to excite,
From then on your night should become explicit.

It’s a recipe for a particular kind of healing,
Or to enter your lover’s heart through their belly,
But I’ve now made myself extra hungry,
And I could eat runny custard from a welly.

image

Picture not mine. Just conveniently pinched.

About Nicholas Rogers

I am an English journalist/copywriter living in Tegucigalpa, Honduras, and I have been here since 2011. I originally came to work with Casa Alianza, which supports street kids and vulnerable youths. I then stayed on, after meeting Pamela Cruz Lozano, who calls me her adopted Catracho. I work freelance journalism and I have my own translation business. Why did I come here? For the challenge, to open my mind and get out of my comfort zone. I love literature and I've written a book with street kids. I write novels, short stories and poetry, all of which you will find on this blog, as well as a lot of information about Honduras. View all posts by Nicholas Rogers

Leave a Reply

