Molotov – Frijolero

Dear readers,

Pamela and her family showed me a song yesterday by a Mexican band called Molotov, which I had heard of before but I wasn’t sure if I’d heard their songs or not. In cafes, clubs or bars, sometimes I just take in the background music and enjoy it for what it is, like people watching, not needing to know the name of the artist or the person walking by, but enjoying that one moment and letting it flutter on carelessly and subconsciously and peacefully to the song or next stranger strolling by. I’m guessing all people do this and identify with this as it’s a natural part of life, but by not investigating the name of the song or artist often leaves me flunked in pub quizzes or looking like an imbecile in front of true music lovers. So when anyone asks me if I have heard of a song by a particular artist, I sometimes reply, “Yeah, probably, I dunno, probably not, maybe”, making the other person give me a funny befuddled look, with the impression that I’m not the most decisive person on earth, not a great quality to be known for in such a macho culture. With literature it’s a different story. I’m something of a stickler for that.  But to get back to the story about Molotov, a couple of Pamela’s cousins and aunties gave me that funny befuddled look yesterday evening when talking about the Mexican group.

I knew that Molotov is something of a Latin American rap group, which have some pretty interesting lyrics, a bit like Calle 13 which I posted a week ago or so. I know that Calle 13 and Molotov have collaborated but again, I don’t know if I’ve heard their collaboration!

Anyway, the song I’m about to add is an interesting tune about the very known racial conflicts between Mexicans and people from the US, which have views from both races and conflicting points of views, with a few insults and swear words thrown into the cauldron. Many people from these lands might be bored of me describing this song, so excuse my ignorance, but the song I think the song is ten years or more years of age, and it’s called Frijolero, which I don’t know if it means bean-maker, bean grower or bean eater, but I have learned from the song that ‘beaner’ is an insult used by “los gringos culeros” against the “beaners” ….. Mexicans! Culero is an insult used for a gay by the way, so this is not the most politically correctly worded song in the world, but the rhythm and the lyrics are kind of catchy, the video is cool, and as stated, the idea of the song is interesting. I can see why Hondurans might relate to this song too, as some do have an anti gringo feeling, which I experience from time to time, but the look on their faces is usually of shame when i confirm that I’m English, but to others it’s all the same. I often remind Hondurans if they would like to be classed as Mexican in the States. Their answer is usually no.

Anyway, check this out!

Molotov – Frijolero

About Nicholas Rogers

I am an English journalist/copywriter living in Tegucigalpa, Honduras, and I have been here since 2011. I originally came to work with Casa Alianza, which supports street kids and vulnerable youths. I then stayed on, after meeting Pamela Cruz Lozano, who calls me her adopted Catracho. I work freelance journalism and I have my own translation business. Why did I come here? For the challenge, to open my mind and get out of my comfort zone. I love literature and I've written a book with street kids. I write novels, short stories and poetry, all of which you will find on this blog, as well as a lot of information about Honduras. View all posts by Nicholas Rogers

Leave a Reply

