Omoa – part one

Dear readers,

Omoa. I can now say that I’ve been there. It has been on my list of things to visit in Honduras since I came here three years ago. Honduras attracts, or should attract, many different types of tourist, whether they’re beach bums, nature lovers and birders (I feel very uncomfortable using this word for bird-watchers because for some reason it sounds as though it’s a euphemism for a perverse activity or some hocus pocus sexual position, like dogging per se. I think the origins of this terminology is yank, turning things smutty yet again, but it could just be my tainted mind), adrenaline junkies who like hiking, scuba, jungle rafting, there are party goers, and culture vultures, who like the Mayan ruins or Garifuna communities. Maybe there’s one other that needs to be mentioned and definitely not ignored, something of a darker note, which is sex tourism. More common in the North, but having worked with exploited victims in Casa Alianza, my conscience always tells me that I should always raise awareness or remind people of the exploitation throughout Central America and Caribbean; it’s a worryingly huge black market business that continues to thrive.

Apart from the last one I’ve just mentioned, most people obviously blend into a few of these types of tourist, and maybe some more which I’ve failed to mention. One of my personal interests falls into the culture vulture bracket, which is the conquistador and pirate history. In Trujillo I enjoyed reading about the fort and it’s rich, rich history, and I really want to see the remains in Lempira. Maybe the pirate element grabs my interest because many of them were English (and French, but a guide told that they weren’t very good or particularly bright pirates because they were always caught and were a bit feeble, especially compared to their English counterparts. Sorry to any French people reading this, but I felt it was important to remind you that you are far weaker compared to your ros bif cousins, even though piracy has a brutal, most unpleasant, negative and bloody history). Being that part of my family are from Cornwall, and without wanting to cast aspertions against the proud Cornish character, I sometimes wonder if some of my ancestors had been in these waters plundering and pillaging away, being that Cornwall was famous for its pirating.

Well, having known for some time about Omoa’s fort, as well as the long beautiful beaches, and after a few false starts to finally get there, I was hugely excited to find out that I would finally be going, courtesy of Pamela, a family event, and Jano, Pamela’s best mate. There were quite a few friends made along the way as well, and also a lot of alcohol drank. After a very busy and stressful time at work for many, this is just what we needed.

I feel it appropriate here to take a break from writing as my arm is stiff and do another update in the next day or so. But I will leave you with the nice little tune Happy by Pharrell Williams. http://m.youtube.com/watch?v=y6Sxv-sUYtM&feature=kp

To be continued. . . .

About Nicholas Rogers

I am an English journalist/copywriter living in Tegucigalpa, Honduras, and I have been here since 2011. I originally came to work with Casa Alianza, which supports street kids and vulnerable youths. I then stayed on, after meeting Pamela Cruz Lozano, who calls me her adopted Catracho. I work freelance journalism and I have my own translation business. Why did I come here? For the challenge, to open my mind and get out of my comfort zone. I love literature and I've written a book with street kids. I write novels, short stories and poetry, all of which you will find on this blog, as well as a lot of information about Honduras. View all posts by Nicholas Rogers

One response to “Omoa – part one

Leave a Reply

