Today is going to be a good day

Dear readers,

Sorry to those who are expecting an update on the next step of the Omoa trip. I’m still finding it hard to find time to concentrate and do it. I promise it soon.

This week I’m preoccupied with things to do with the business and residence. If you remember, I am setting up a translation business with Pamela called Top Translations. First of all, I have enjoyed the translation work that I’ve done so far and it pays very well. In fact I might be getting a lucrative little something through my housemate Nacho. Secondly, it will help me get residency and open up my options to make money in Honduras. The obstacles and process have been the cross between a horror ride and a crazy fun house at a fair ground (fun isn’t really the word. Time consuming is probably more appropriate). I want to get it out the way so I don’t have to leave the country for another few days again. I’ve seen enough of Tico Land. It’s expensive and nail biting but we’re nearly at the end of the tunnel.

Casa Alianza is pushing ahead with the book. It needs editing, which I knew would be the case, it has a foreword by Suzanne Vega and it’s getting an extra chapter. So pleased to hear. It’s been three years since I’d written it. I can’t wait to see the kids faces alight when they see their stories on page knowing it’s going to a great cause. Also, the street child World Cup is kicking off this week and Casa Alianza Nicaragua is playing. I will fill you in with their progress.

Also, a man asked me if I would write for the ESPN blog about Honduras at the weekend. Nice job if I can get it.

I also know a part Welsh, part Honduran lad who I should have interviewed on Saturday night but we got to drunk instead and he gave my girlfriend a good run for her money on the salsa dance-floor, a dance genre that I hear my bro and his wife are learning thousands of miles away in Worcestershire somewhere. I believe it’s too militant and controlled. Dance should be more fun and spontaneous and bewitching. Salsa isn’t. The lyrics are nice though and the bands play different flavours of rhythms. Anyway, he’s in Guatemala right now. He’s lived an amazingly interesting life. Expect an interview on here soon when he returns.

These nice little events have inspired me to write a poem. Hope you enjoy.

Good day today

Today is going to be a good day,
With sunshine filling our lives.
Some say, ‘Coome what may’,
But success comes to those who strive.

You are the dictator of your life,
You are the owner of your soul,
It can be shared with God, or husband, or wife,
And be ignited through freezing lumps of coal.

Breathe deeply if you feel stressed,
Stretch if you’re feeling tense,
Pray to God to feel blessed,
Speak up, don’t sit on the fence.

So enjoy each day as it comes,
Embrace it like it’s your one true love,
Don’t think of bills or sums,
And soak up the spirits from above.

About Nicholas Rogers

I am an English journalist/copywriter living in Tegucigalpa, Honduras, and I have been here since 2011. I originally came to work with Casa Alianza, which supports street kids and vulnerable youths. I then stayed on, after meeting Pamela Cruz Lozano, who calls me her adopted Catracho. I work freelance journalism and I have my own translation business. Why did I come here? For the challenge, to open my mind and get out of my comfort zone. I love literature and I've written a book with street kids. I write novels, short stories and poetry, all of which you will find on this blog, as well as a lot of information about Honduras. View all posts by Nicholas Rogers

Leave a Reply

