ESPN – FIRST BLOG ARTICLE

Dear readers,

I’m proud to announce that my first blog article for ESPN is now online. My original article was 2500 and I had to chop more than half. I haven’t forgotten what it’s like chopping your work like that: chopping fingers off your baby, so they say. A second article should be up soon too. I will include an update on here when I do.

http://www.espnfc.com/blog/_/name/Honduras/id/5?cc=3888

I must also announce that my brother did an amazing job on the Norfolk Mud Run on Saturday: a meaty 20 mile run with assault causes and other crazy stuff, which was done to raise money, with his Crowle compatriots, for a charity called Balls to Cancer. He did it in 5 hours and 30 mins, which could have been less if there was no queue to go skinny dipping swimming. He also finished in the first 30% of contestants. You can still sponsor the group. The charity concentrates more in cancer for men. Here is a link.

https://www.justgiving.com/menofcrowle1/?utm_source=facebook&utm_medium=shares-from-email&utm_campaign=sponsor-receipt-email-share-facebook&utm_content=menofcrowle1

Here is a nice little image of the heroic gang. My brother Ben is the bald one in the blue.

image

While talking about cancer, I want to recommend a book that I have been reading with a couple of kids at work. It’s called Ways to Live Forever, by Sally Nicholls. It’s about an 11 year old boy with leukaemia, a very moving book obviously, but brilliant for teenagers and preteens trying to understand the illness. Sam, the main character, likes making lists and writing stories, which helps him deal with the illness. The kids in the school really like it, which says something because many kids at the school are not keen on reading. It was made into a movie but I don’t think it had great reviews. Give it a try, the book that is!

image

About Nicholas Rogers

I am an English journalist/copywriter living in Tegucigalpa, Honduras, and I have been here since 2011. I originally came to work with Casa Alianza, which supports street kids and vulnerable youths. I then stayed on, after meeting Pamela Cruz Lozano, who calls me her adopted Catracho. I work freelance journalism and I have my own translation business. Why did I come here? For the challenge, to open my mind and get out of my comfort zone. I love literature and I've written a book with street kids. I write novels, short stories and poetry, all of which you will find on this blog, as well as a lot of information about Honduras. View all posts by Nicholas Rogers

Leave a Reply

