ESPN – SIXTH BLOG ARTICLE

Dear readers,

I am plonking my sixth ESPN article on my blog. I finished at stupid o’clock in the morning while my now former housemate Bruno was having his leaving do in the apartment before he returned to Italy today. It’s a shame he couldn’t stay a fortnight longer so we could watch English rip Italy to pieces together (I know I’m going to be choking with regret on these words in two weeks, but it’s good to ignite a bantering flame).

As for the Catracho game with Turkey, I couldn’t believe my shite luck. Five minutes in, I had a beer in hand, Honduras were looking good, knocking the ball around sweetly, then the power went out. And it stayed out. I needed to see it for my ESPN blog. Nacho and Wilmer were returning with another former housemate Martin. We then went to a nearby petrol station to watch the game and had a beer or four. Whatever happened to Honduras when the lights went out, I don’t know, but the life seemed to have been sucked out of Honduras. They gave away two really daft goals away and could barely string a pass together against a Turkish team that wasn’t playing their select 11 nor made it to the World Cup. It doesn’t bode well. Honduras usually raise their game with better opposition, so I expect them to give England a test. But I expect England to break them down quite easily if Honduras gift goals like the other night.

http://m.youtube.com/watch?v=TEliKRp49Vo

After that, we went to a bar named Tres Tintas where we saw this rather bizarre artwork. Pamela doesn’t like it. I can see why.

image

Anyway, here’s a link to the ESPN blog. Enjoy.

http://www.espnfc.com/blog/_/name/honduras/id/54

About Nicholas Rogers

I am an English journalist/copywriter living in Tegucigalpa, Honduras, and I have been here since 2011. I originally came to work with Casa Alianza, which supports street kids and vulnerable youths. I then stayed on, after meeting Pamela Cruz Lozano, who calls me her adopted Catracho. I work freelance journalism and I have my own translation business. Why did I come here? For the challenge, to open my mind and get out of my comfort zone. I love literature and I've written a book with street kids. I write novels, short stories and poetry, all of which you will find on this blog, as well as a lot of information about Honduras. View all posts by Nicholas Rogers

Leave a Reply

