ESPN – SEVENTH BLOG ARTICLE

Dear readers,

I can’t write for long today. I just want to say well done to my girlfriend Pamela and her sister Dennisse, along with friends Victoria, Alma and Sara et al, who organised a fundraising event for their dear friend Vera. Vera was in a horrific car accident nearly two weeks ago. She is still in intensive care and is suffering injuries which will most likely be life changing. I won’t go into specifics.

I’ve met Vera only twice but she has a larger than character, lives life to the maximum and is a good ol’ chuckle. Within an hour of meeting her for the first time, she wanted to make me jealous by touching my girlfriend’s boobs in the middle of a bar. I can tell you for sure, this did not make me jealous, but left me with a big perverted grin on my face. But that’s Vera, a great personality. Originally from Olancho, she’s lived in Germany and probably visited more countries in Europe than myself.

The night took place at Pizza Hut on Monday, and 20% of each client’s order went to Vera. I imagine it’s going to medical bills. A nice amount was made anyway, and Vera will be very proud of her mates. Felicidades chicas!! Thanks to all those who attended too, to those reading.

While talking of charity events, my sister is doing a run soon. I will put a link up soon so you can sponsor her. I will also include some photos of when we went to La Tigra on Sunday.

Honduras face England on Saturday. I have been winding up Hondurans saying that England will smash them to pieces. I may be eating my own words, as Honduras have the ability to be abysmal against teams they are superior to, and amazing against teams they are inferior to. I hope for no injuries and a few goals for both teams. Pamela has said that Muma Bernandez will sit on Rooney’s head, but then I think Gerrard will do the same to Espinoza and cut off his silly locks. There is someone in Pamela’s family who continues to call me gringuito, claiming it’s ‘con cariño’. Being called Mexican doesn’t feel too appropriate either, does it. Furthermore, you can call the English gringos as much as you like, but I will keep reminding you that it is far better to have your head up USA’s arse, than be under it!!

I feel I get lynched for saying that. The next entry on this blog will be in six months when I’ve come out of a coma. Here’s the link.

About Nicholas Rogers

I am an English journalist/copywriter living in Tegucigalpa, Honduras, and I have been here since 2011. I originally came to work with Casa Alianza, which supports street kids and vulnerable youths. I then stayed on, after meeting Pamela Cruz Lozano, who calls me her adopted Catracho. I work freelance journalism and I have my own translation business. Why did I come here? For the challenge, to open my mind and get out of my comfort zone. I love literature and I've written a book with street kids. I write novels, short stories and poetry, all of which you will find on this blog, as well as a lot of information about Honduras. View all posts by Nicholas Rogers

Leave a Reply

