England v Honduras

Dear readers,

So the big game is tomorrow. Well, let’s put it in perspective, it’s a friendly. Both teams will want to avoid injuries. Both teams have leaky defences. Honduras will have advantage over the heat,  though they’ve been looking worryingly shite before the world cup and Hondurans are fearing a drubbing at the hands of Rooney and co.

image

I’m hoping that Honduras do alright in this world cup, maybe sneak through in second place. If they do, the ESPN blog continues and I get more pennies in my pocket, something I’ve enjoyed doing. My head is full of interesting facts, which I love testing my housemates with. For example, did you know Honduras have played Ecuador 13 times? The first was in 1983. Honduras have won 4 encounters to Ecuador’s 3. 6 drawn. The last time they played was November 20, 2013, finishing 2-2, in Houston. Also, did you know goalkeeper and captain Noel Valladares is the second ever most capped player for La H, with 122 to his name? I bet you didn’t know that. Fascinating stuff! I’d be great in the history of Honduran football round in a pub quiz.

Anyway, the bet is if England win, Pam’s going to buy me lunch at Hacinda Real. If Honduras win, she’s getting a Big Mac with a big gulp of angry thuggish English phlegm in it. That’s disgusting but I’m just joking of course.

I’m going to include two songs connected to both countries to rev up the emotions. For Honduras, here is a Honduran samba song.

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=dkRJqU9ugeY

For England, I’m including a hymn that I regard more stimulating, more rousing and more passionate than the bore that is God Save The Queen. I think the Queen think it’s shit as well. The song I choose isn’t by Fat Les, but derives from a William Blake poem, which is of course the heroic anthem Jerusalem, a song that makes me feel patriotic. I genuinely believe that if England played this before their games, the jubilant vibe would have inspired the team to win about 8 world cups by now. This is taken from the Proms.

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=X8VH0sbEU20

Just to let you know that I may be on RDS Radio in Honduras next week taking part in a show about Brit Pop, so I guess this is a good opportunity to play a famous 90s Brit Pop song by Oasis  How about Roll With It? I think it might well be. So I’ll finish there.

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=6XQzm0WlRcg

(I can’t believe this song is 20 years old).

About Nicholas Rogers

I am an English journalist/copywriter living in Tegucigalpa, Honduras, and I have been here since 2011. I originally came to work with Casa Alianza, which supports street kids and vulnerable youths. I then stayed on, after meeting Pamela Cruz Lozano, who calls me her adopted Catracho. I work freelance journalism and I have my own translation business. Why did I come here? For the challenge, to open my mind and get out of my comfort zone. I love literature and I've written a book with street kids. I write novels, short stories and poetry, all of which you will find on this blog, as well as a lot of information about Honduras. View all posts by Nicholas Rogers

5 responses to “England v Honduras

  • tegusdinners

    Nick, I’ve got a 4 CD compilation called “The Brit Box”, which has 1 song each by dozens of British bands from the 80s thru 2000s. Lemme know if you want a copy to get songs for the show.

  • tegusdinners

    And please, oh please, have mercy on my ears – no Oasis EVER! Dont traumatize Central America! It would make thousands of Hondurans into instant Britain haters!

  • tegusdinners

    Okay, I shall be respectful then – I suppose that a roommate that I had in the 90s who was fanatical about Oasis gave me an overdose of the Gallagher brothers. It’s just that personally I’ve got tons more gratitude for Manchester’s other musical contributions, like Joy Division, the Smiths, the Chemical Brothers, the Stone Roses, the Chameleons & the Buzzcocks. To each their own…

Leave a Reply

