ESPN – HONDURAS WORLD CUP PREDICTIONS

Dear readers,

The World Cup is on our doorstep, the president of FIFA (Sepp Blatter) is accusing the British media of racism and discrimination (The Sun and the Daily Mail maybe, but the Guardian and Times, I think not), even though the organisation which he has lead since 1998 has become some riddled with corruption that it sets itself on-par with Honduras’s very own congress. What an eejit! I know the British media have been heavily critical of him, and rightly so, but that’s because they have had the balls to report on scams which he claims aren’t true and is just one big ploy to bring him down. Oh the audacity, to write things about a man who was the only man to stand at the last FIFA presidential elections! I also know that the English FA have also been at loggerheads with Blatter, who aren’t angels themselves, but at least they had the balls to refuse to vote in a rigged election. I hope Honduras knocks his little Toberlone scoffing, tax avoiding, cuckoo clock making little skiers out the world cup, a so-called seeded team (it makes me choke with bemusement every time I hear it).

index

Talking of predictions, here is my evaluation of Honduran team on the ESPN blog. http://www.espnfc.com/team/honduras/215/blog/post/1867152/predictions-for-honduras-at-world-cup-2014. See what you think.

Second of all, here is an article regarding the “racist” newspaper the Guardian about Wilson Palacios, a Honduran player who will be vitally important to the team when Sunday comes and I have a Honduran shirt signed by the man from La Ceiba, which was out last Saturday. He says “England is wonderful”. Take that Blatter. He also talks about issues in Honduras, about how important football is for the people here, the passion and escapism, something that I have written about on the ESPN blog. http://www.theguardian.com/football/2014/jun/06/wilson-palacios-want-inspire-honduras-england-wonderful.

Here is a link to BBC3 Street Child World Cup that took place a couple of months ago. I believe that is on tv today. Here is a link via the Casa Alianza UK facebook page. https://www.facebook.com/CasaAlianzaUK?ref=ts&fref=ts.

Lastly, here is a Coldplay song, Every Tear is a Waterfall, which always puts a smile on my face. Gets me buzzing. Every football fan should be. THE WORLD CUP STARTS IN TWO DAYS!!!!

About Nicholas Rogers

I am an English journalist/copywriter living in Tegucigalpa, Honduras, and I have been here since 2011. I originally came to work with Casa Alianza, which supports street kids and vulnerable youths. I then stayed on, after meeting Pamela Cruz Lozano, who calls me her adopted Catracho. I work freelance journalism and I have my own translation business. Why did I come here? For the challenge, to open my mind and get out of my comfort zone. I love literature and I've written a book with street kids. I write novels, short stories and poetry, all of which you will find on this blog, as well as a lot of information about Honduras. View all posts by Nicholas Rogers

Leave a Reply

