Radio Star (again!)

Dear readers,

Spain are out. People say it’s a shock but it’s not for me. Six glorious years but they failed to change their style. I hated tiki-taka with lust, but I don’t want to make this personal to Spanish people or the country itself. I have many great friends for the Iberian peninsula and had great times in the lively Spanish cities. Maybe it’s being English and we love fast counter attacking games, which makes the Premiership the most watched league in the world. It certainly changed football and will be remembered in history, but the games are like a gruesome slow death, a bit like a bullfight (I suppose this is an unlikely case of the bull getting revenge on the matador, and the usually successful matador is a bit unsure what to do). Funnily enough tiki-taka is a phrase from Catalonia, used to describe the passing footballing style that Barcelona adopted (they claim that they invented it but Ajax, Brazil, Liverpool and Arsenal have all used it long before, and at some point, all their bubbles burst when opposing teams learned how to play against it). Gary Neville referred to it as “passing without purpose” or something like it, and I agree, except I prefer to call it shitty-taka. I hope Spain doesn’t wish vengeance on me and hope Uruguay wins tomorrow. Even though England played well against Italy, I’ve a feeling Uruguay are going to gatecrash our kindergarten party tomorrow, even though they weren’t great against Costa Rica. Back to Spain, I hope they return with a new style. Something more interesting. I look forward to see what they come up with. Here’s a cruel little photo someone sent me earlier.

image

Now for the real reason you’re here. I was on a radio show today all about Britpop. It was by a friend called Diego Ardon, who went with ICYE to Finland, and I learned the other day he was a student at Dowal, the school I work at. He’s also a huge music fan. I was on the show with him and his best mate Noel Ortiz, another former Dowal student. It took place in a studio right close to my house, a place called RDS. I knew it was there but I always wondered what happened inside. It will include Oasis, Stone Roses and Pulp etc. I am including a link here. The show is called A La Izquierda de la Dial (to the left of the dial). They play alternative music, something that’s not always easy to hear on Honduran radio. It’s on at 9ish on Friday Central American time ( the UK is 7 hours ahead. You can pick up on the Internet. It will be 4am on Saturday. Go on. You know you want to hear my smooth sensual voice. Here are the details. https://m.facebook.com/profile.php?id=649229415125945

About Nicholas Rogers

I am an English journalist/copywriter living in Tegucigalpa, Honduras, and I have been here since 2011. I originally came to work with Casa Alianza, which supports street kids and vulnerable youths. I then stayed on, after meeting Pamela Cruz Lozano, who calls me her adopted Catracho. I work freelance journalism and I have my own translation business. Why did I come here? For the challenge, to open my mind and get out of my comfort zone. I love literature and I've written a book with street kids. I write novels, short stories and poetry, all of which you will find on this blog, as well as a lot of information about Honduras. View all posts by Nicholas Rogers

Leave a Reply

